Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Different databases offer somewhat different search interfaces and capabilities. I included a sample search with each database to get you started.
- Connect terms and phrases with AND.
- Place quotation marks around phrases.
- To include alternate terms, enclose the terms in parentheses and connect with OR, e.g. (covid-19 OR coronavirus), (ethnic or racial), etc.
- Some databases support truncation. The most common truncation symbol is the asterisk *, e.g disparit* finds disparity and disparities.
Multidisciplinary article databases
Proquest Research Library
Finds articles in scholarly journals, general interest magazines, and some news sources.
From the list of results, you can also Narrow Results by Source Type.
Academic Search Complete
Multidisciplinary and multi-genre--scholarly journals, scholarly journals, magazines, reports, newspapers. Lots of full text.
A selection of scholarly journal databases
Below, please find a selection of journal databases in the areas of Sociology, Politics & Policy, Science, and Medicine.
Proquest Social Sciences Premium Collection
Sample search: (covid-19 OR coronavirus) AND (inequalit* or disparit*)
Sociology Source Ultimate
covid-19 OR coronavirus
[and] inequalit* or disparit*
Full-text articles on a wide variety of science topics. Note: ScienceDirect does not support truncation.
Sample search: covid-19 and health disparities
Articles published in medical journals.
(covid-19 OR coronavirus) and (race or minority or african american) and (health disparities or inequality)