Start here
Oxford Bibliographies ONLINE *
Medieval Italy: an Encyclopedia. vol. 1, A-K, ONLINE* and vol. 2, L-Z, ONLINE* Covers cross-disciplinary scholarship on Medieval Italy -- literature, the arts, history, science, philosophy and religion between A.D. 450 and 1375. *
Oxford Companion to Italian Literature. ONLINE. Covers major and minor authors, literary genres and movements, literary theory, literary magazines and publishers, as well as entries on important cities, historical events and political philosophies.*
General reference sources
- Encyclopedia BritannicaOnline. Now includes rich supplementary material (maps, data, news, articles, website links and more).
- Gale Virtual Reference LibraryOnline. Excellent collection of full text encyclopedias.
- Sage Reference OnlineExcellent collection of full text encyclopedias.
- Oxford Reference OnlineOutstanding collection of encyclopedias, dictionaries, and companions.*
- Literature Resource CenterONLINE. Criticism and theory, biographical, bibliographical, and contextual information on authors and their works (fiction, nonfiction, poetry, drama, history, and journalism).
Background on theories and theorists - Reference sources
- International Encyclopedia of the Social and Behavioral SciencesONLINE Contains signed, scholarly entries on a wide range of subjects in psychology, sociology, anthropology, sexuality, media, education, age, adolescence, race, demography, and much more.
- Stanford Encyclopedia of PhilosophyONLINE only, peer-reviewed, open-access encyclopedia.
Selected Subject Encyclopedias
The Cambridge Companion to Boccaccio by Call Number: Olin Library, PQ4294 .C34 2015Publication Date: 2015-06-30
Encyclopedia of the Black Death by Call Number: Olin Library Reference, RC172 .B98 2012 +Publication Date: 2012
Encyclopedia of Italian Literary Studies by Call Number: Olin Library Reference, PQ4006 .E536 2007 +Publication Date: 2006An etymological dictionary for reading Boccaccio's Decameron by
Call Number: PQ4287 .F85 2011Publication Date: 2011 - .
The Oxford Companion to Italian Literature by Call Number: Olin Library Reference, PQ4006 .O84x 2002Publication Date: 2003
Tip: The Library of Congress classification for Italian history is DG