Skip to main content

Willard Straight Occupation Study Guide: Daily Sun, Dec. '68-April '69

Pre-Willard Straight Hall Occupation, Dec. 1968-April 1969

Cornell Daily Sun Digitized Articles:
 

Zuckerman, Edward B. “Black Students Demand Control of New Afro Studies Program.” Cornell Daily Sun, 9 December 1968, p. 1.

“Sun Reporter Beaten After Sit-In Threat.” Cornell Daily Sun, 9 December 1968, p. 1.

Zuckerman, Edward B. “Afro Students Present Demands Administrators, Faculty Confer.” Cornell Daily Sun, 10 December 1968, p. 1.

Zuckerman, Edward. “The Afro Demands: Why Here?” Cornell Daily Sun, 11 December 1968, p. 1

Chess, Stan. “Black Pride: The White Black Myth.” Cornell Daily Sun, 12 December 1968, p. 1.

Zuckerman, Edward B. “Deadline Passes.” Cornell Daily Sun, 12 December 1968, p. 1.

Chess, Stan. “Perkins Replies to Afro Demands.” Cornell Daily Sun, 13 December 1968, p. 1.

Lastique, Karabelle. “Blacks Direct Studies.” Cornell Daily Sun, 13 December 1968, p. 1.

Taubman, Daniel M. “Profs Discuss Black’s Demands.” Cornell Daily Sun, 16 December 1968, p. 1.

Zuckerman, Edward B. “Black Students Protest.” Cornell Daily Sun, 16 December 1968, p. 1.

Zuckerman, Edward B. “Blacks Give Perkins Plan for College.” Cornell Daily Sun, 17 December 1968, p. 1.

Zuckerman, Edward B. “Administration, Black Students Discuss Proposed Constitution.” Cornell Daily Sun, 18 December 1968, p. 1.

Zuckerman, Edward B. “Afro College Demand Remains in Stalemate.” Cornell Daily Sun, 19 December 1968, p. 1.

Warshauer, Richard M. “USCC Discusses Issuance of Citations to Protestors.” Cornell Daily Sun, 18 December 1968, p.1.

Zuckerman, Edward. "C.U. Favors Black Director." Cornell Daily Sun, 27 January 1969, p. 1.

Warshauer, Richard M. “Demonstrators Not Charged.” Cornell Daily Sun, 7 February 1969, p. 1.

Zuckerman, Edward B. “AAS Dissatisfied With Plans For Black Studies Program.” Cornell Daily Sun, 7 February 1969, p. 1.

“Turner to Revisit Campus.” Cornell Daily Sun, 21 February 1969, p. 1.

Katz, Mark and Richard Neubauer. “Perkins Harrassed on Stage During Lowenstein Lecture.” Cornell Daily Sun, 3 March 1969, p. 1.

Whitfield, Edward. “AAS Statement.” Cornell Daily Sun, 3 March 1969, p. 5. (Letter to editor)

Jones, Patricia. “Turner May Accept Black Studies Post.” Cornell Daily Sun, 6 March 1969, p. 1.

Warshauer, Richard M. “Seven Blacks Face Possible Suspension.” Cornell Daily Sun, 7 March 1969.

“Text of AAS Statement to Board.” Cornell Daily Sun, 14 March 1969, p. 16.

Rosenbaum, Michael. “Board Postpones Action.” Cornell Daily Sun, 14 March 1969, p. 1.

Katz, Mark. “Students Have Say in FCSA Decisions.” Cornell Daily Sun, 26 March 1969, p. 1.

Rosenbaum, Michael. “FSCA Backs Judicial System Power to Judge Afro Case.” Cornell Daily Sun, 26 March 1969, p. 1.

Pizzegati, Sam. “NY Times Looks at AfroCenter.” Cornell Daily Sun, 7 April 1969, p. 1.

“Awaiting Trustee Action…” Cornell Daily Sun, 10 April 1969, p. 4. (Editorial)

Reppert, Barton. “Trustees Meet in New York to Discuss JHC, Afro Center: Okay Expected on Afro Plan.” Cornell Daily Sun, 10 April 1969, p. 1.

Greenberg, Donna B. “Graduate School Tries to Recruit Increased Enrollment of Blacks.” Cornell Daily Sun, 11 April 1969, p. 14.

Trustees Meet Some JHC Demands Grant Funds for Afro Study Center.” Cornell Daily Sun, 14 April 1969, p. 1.

“Turner Talks in St. Louis About Blacks.” Cornell Daily Sun, 15 April 1969, p. 1.

Warshauer, Richard. “AAS Blast FCSA Statement Judiciary Contradiction Shown.” Cornell Daily Sun, 16 April 1969, p. 1.

Slatoff, Walter J. “Cornell Racism.” Cornell Daily Sun, 17 April 1969, p. 5.

Tips

Once you have accessed The Cornell Daily Sun Electronic Database you have many viewing opitions:

  • Table of contents of newspaper edition.
  • Full page containing article.
  • Computer-generated text of article.
  • Pdf verison of entire page that article appeared on. Click on page view at the bottom of the page.

For searching tips click here.