WRIT 1370 Elements of Academic Writing: Theories of Happiness (Fall 2016): Finding Articles

Using the library

Overview

You can search general article databases to find materials from across disciplines, or search individual databases that focus on specific disciplines -- such as philosophy, medicine, sociology, religion.

The records in these individual databases will often include helpful subject terms or descriptor terms that you can use to broaden or narrow your search.

Note: If you're questioning whether something really is, or isn't, peer-reviewed (sometimes, there are mistakes in the databases), search Ulrichs Periodicals Directory , by journal title, and look for the "Refereed" icon. This indicates a refereed, or peer-reviewed, journal.

Databases allow you to ...

Restrict your search results to only peer-reviewed or academic (scholarly sources) when you need to.

Often provide Subject Terms or Descriptor Terms to help you broaden or narrow your search.

Citations for the articles ( look for the Cite link, or  " " )

 

Search tips:

Combine keywords and phrases, e.g.,

happiness and health

Happiness and rural

Happiness and urban

happiness and urban and rural

happiness and altruism

happiness and "physical health"

In Sociological Abstracts (the Proquest interface) and Pubmed, you must enclose alternate terms in parenthesis, using OR, e.g.

happiness and (ethical OR ethics)

(happiness or well-being)

ATLA Religion, Psycinfo, and Philospher's Index (the EBSCO interface), simply place your alternate terms on a separate line, e.g. 

happiness

[and] ethical OR ethics

When you have found a particularly relevant title, open the records to see the subject descriptors for similar articles.

If a PDF isn't provided, look for the Get it! Cornell to find the full text.

Recommended databases