Skip to main content

WRIT 1380: Fundamentals of College-Level Writing. (Spring 2017): FINDING MEDIA
ARTICLES--General

A research guide for Kelly King-O'Brien's section of WRIT 1380.

Current Events: Newspapers and News Media

Be an active news user: Evaluate the news you are reading.

 

The online databases below link to online news sources or provide searchable access to multiple news providers.

Factiva.
[http://resolver.library.cornell.edu/misc/4394263]; subscription.
Coverage: Current. Back to 1980s for some titles. Primarily business news. Plain text. English. The News Pages section shows articles from eight major news sources (New York Times, Wall Street Journal, etc.) for the last two weeks.

LexisNexis Academic.
[http://resolver.library.cornell.edu/misc/3126641]; subscription.
Coverage: roughly 1980 to date. Includes television and radio transcripts. Plain text. In Western European languages.

Library PressDisplay. ProQuest.
[http://resolver.library.cornell.edu/misc/6279917]; subscription.
Full-color PDFs. Coverage: latest 90 days. Many languages.

ProQuest Digital Microfilm.
[http://resolver.library.cornell.edu/misc/7981672]; subscription.
The New York Times (2008- ), Wall Street Journal (2008- ), and Washington Post (2008- ), the Chicago Tribune (2008- ), and the Los Angeles Times (2008- ). Plus eighty-one additional newspapers from the U.S. and Canada. Start dates for these 81 titles varies from January 1, 2008 to January 1, 2011. Scanned pages from the microfilm versions. Not searchable.

ProQuest Historical Newspapers.
Advertising content is searchable. Search a single newspaper or cross-search any combination of newspapers in this collection.
Coverage: Baltimore Sun (1837-1990), Boston Globe (1872-1984), Chicago Tribune (1849-1992), Hartford Courant (1764-1990),  Los Angeles Times (1881-1992), New York Times (1851-2013), New York Tribune / Herald Tribune  (1841-1962), Wall Street Journal (1889-1999), and Washington Post (1877-1999).
African-American newspapers: Chicago Defender (1910-1975), New York Amsterdam News (1922-1993), and Pittsburgh Courier (1911-2002).
International newspapers: Chinese Newspapers Collection (1832-1953), Globe and Mail [Toronto] (1844-2012), Irish Times / Weekly Irish Times [Dublin] (1859-2015), and Times of India (1838-2006).

Television News Archive, Vanderbilt University.
[http://resolver.library.cornell.edu/misc/3920979]; subscription.
More than 30,000 individual network evening news broadcasts from major U.S. national broadcast networks: ABC, CBS, NBC, and CNN, and more than 9,000 hours of special news-related programming including ABC's Nightline (since 1989). Coverage: 1968 to date. Includes commercials, searchable by brand name. Streaming video, transcripts. English.

The full version of the News Collections Online web page is here.

Reference Help

Michael Engle's picture
Michael Engle
106 Olin Library
moe1@cornell.edu
Cornell University Library

Selector for
Reference
Anglo-American News

VIVO