Technical Standards & Building Codes: Home

Standards All Around You

Engineering Standards and Codes

Introduction

Standards and codes are needed to enhance productivity, facilitate trade, and improve the quality of life. Standards may be developed by innumerable national or international trade associations, groups of industries or government agencies. To identify current standards search the ANSI database, which contains many world-wide standards.

Upon publication the acronym of the publishing organization together with a number and the current year identifies a given title e.g. ASCE 36 - 2001. Acronyms of organizations involved in writing standards, e.g. IEEE, API or UL, are listed at NSSN: Search Engine for National Standards.

Codes include building, electrical, mechanical, plumbing, fire, and maintenance codes such as: IBC, IEBC, IEC; IECC; IFC; IMC; IPC; IRC; UBC; BOCA; SBC; ADA; ANSI; Fair Housing: UFAS; and NFPA. Many are individually cataloged and are available in the print reference collection at the Engineering Library.

If you are having problems locating a standard, contact the Engineering librarians, engrref@cornell.edu or 607-254-6261.

A brief overview with locations is given in the following tables:

US Organizations Involved in Writing Standards

Acronym
Title of Resource
Location (online or hardcopy)
ACI
ACI Manual of Concrete Practice
Library Annex (hardcopy or CD-ROM)
ANSI

American National Standards Institute
(Includes some ANS, ASAE, ASCE, ASHRAE, ASME, AWWA, EIA, NFPA, SAE, UL standards, filed as ANSE/ASME...)

American National Standards Institute (online reference; full text may not be available)

Library Annex (hardcopy or CD-ROM)

ASCE American Society for Civil Engineers standards

ASCE Library (online)

(or Search catalog for "ASCE standard" in Guided Keyword Search)

Also included as part of the Knovel digital library

ASQ

American Society for Quality

Part of the Knovel digital library

ASTM

Annual Book of ASTM standards

(A Multivolume Set of Full-text Books)

ASTM Standards and Engineering Digital Library (online)

Library Annex (Search catalog for TA401 .A51 in Basic Search) (hardcopy)

ASME
ASME Boiler and Pressure Vessel Code
 

Library Annex (hardcopy)

Volume II (Materials) also available online
ASME
ASME standards
Some additional stadnards can be found in hardcopy, interfiled with ANSI standards:
 
Library Annex (Search catalog for T59.A51 in Basic Search) (hardcopy)
- Index and Directory of Industry Standards Library Annex (hardcopy)
IEEE

IEEE standards

Networked Resource

IEEE Xplore

 

Library Annex (Search catalog for TK5700 .I592 in Basic Search) (hardcopy)

 (IEEE Standards are listed in the catalog, each numbered with individual title)

IBE International Building Code (superseded Uniform Building Code as of 1997) Fine Arts Library or Library Annex (hardcopy)
ISO International Organization for Standardization

International Organization for Standardization (online)

ISO standards are generally only available for purchase. The library may be willing to purchase such standards as a normal materials request. However, ISO standards are licensed and watermarked to the purchaser. Contact the Engineering librarians to inquire.

MilSpecs

U.S. Department of Defense

Military Standards and Specifications

Everyspec.com (online; contains many free military and Dept. of Defense standards and handbooks)

ASSIST Quicksearch (online)
NFPA National Fire Protection Association MAD CAD (online)
NISO
National Information Standards Organization
NISO (online)
-
National Electrical Code
NIST
National Institute of Standards and Technology Standard Physical Reference Data Page (SI standard units, conversion factors, universal constants)

NIST Physical Reference Data Page (online)

Library Annex (Search catalog for QC94 .S47 in Basic Search) (hardcopy)

NSSN

National Resource for Global Standards (National Standards Systems Network)

-
Uniform Building Code
(1997 superseded by International Building Code)

Library Annex (Search catalog for TH223 .P3 1997 or K3538 .A15 I57 in Basic Search) (hardcopy)

 

 

SAE

SAE Handbook
Society of Automotive Engineers

SAE Digital Library (online)

Mathematics or Library Annex (hardcopy or CD-ROM)

SME

Society of Manufacturing Engineers

Part of the Knovel digital library

Codes, including building, electrical, mechanical, plumbing, fire, and maintenance codes have abbreviations such as: IBC, IEBC, IEC; IECC; IFC; IMC; IPC; IRC; UBC; BOCA; SBC; ADA; ANSI; Fair Housing: UFAS; and NFPA.

Some Foreign National Standards

BSI
British Standards Institute
DIN
Deutches Institut fur Normung
JIS
Japanese Industrial Standards

 

Standards not held at Cornell may be ordered by the library - please inquire at the Service Desk or send an email to engrref@cornell.edu.

Jeremy Cusker, Engineering Library

Jeremy Cusker
Contact:
103B Carpenter Hall

Engineering Library

Cornell University

Ithaca, NY 14850

(607) 254-6261