This is the "Getting Started" page of the "Statistical Databases for the Social Sciences" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Statistical Databases for the Social Sciences  

Last Updated: Jun 3, 2013 URL: http://guides.library.cornell.edu/ss_stats Print Guide Email Alerts

Getting Started Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Welcome!

This guide highlights national and international resources that offer data in a variety of social science disciplines.

 

General Resources

U.S. Census Bureau

The U.S. Census Bureau is the leading source of data for information on U.S. demography and economy. The web site provides links to data regarding the Population and Housing census, the Economic Census, the Census of Governments, the American Community Survey, Economic Indicators and more. The site also includes selected international data.

 

American FactFinder

From the Census Bureau. Population, housing, economic and geographic data for the United States.

 

 Statistical Abstracts of the United States

Published since 1878, is the authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States. Use the Abstract as a convenient volume for statistical reference, and as a guide to sources of more information both in print and on the Web. Sources of data include the Census Bureau, Bureau of Labor Statistics, Bureau of Economic Analysis, and many other Federal agencies and private organizations.


ProQuest Statistical Insight

ProQuest Statistical Insight provides access to an index of over 100,000 U.S. government, state, local, privately-produced and international statistical publication on a wide variety of topics. Data is available from 1973-present.

 

Eurostat

 Eurostat is the statistical office of the European Union and is tasked with providing  statistics at the  European level that enable comparisons between countries and regions. The website provides a variety of statistics organizied by subject. Areas include (but are not limited to) economy and finance, population and social conditions, agriculture, industry, environment and energy, and science and technology. The Eurostat website also highlights various print and online publications.

 

 FedStats

Provides access to the full range of official statistical information produced by the Federal Government without having to know in advance which Federal agency produces which particular statistic. Searching and linking capablilties to more than 100 agencies that provide data and trend information on such topics as economic and population trends, crime, education, health care, aviation safety, energy use, farm production and more.

 

International Statistics Agencies

From the U. S. Census Bureau. An alphabetical listing by country of goverment statistics for nearly two hundred countries.

 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip