PSYCH 1140-102: Critical Thinking, Psychology, and Communicating Science (Fall 2017): Finding Articles

Research Guide

Aren't most articles on the web?

When you're searching the web you'll find non-scholarly sources, and some scholarly sources, undifferentiated, in one giant pot. It isn't always easy to identify what is scholarly or to exclude the non-scholarly results (even Google Scholar includes book references and other materials that are not peer-reviewed, scholarly journal articles).

By searching the library's article databases, you will ensure that your search is comprehensive and that the results are from scholarly sources.

Effective researchers use all of the tools -- the web, library catalogs, and databases.

Search Tips

Search by author (e.g. Cuddy), article title or key terms and phrases (e.g. "power posing").

Add terms to narrow your search. 

Search for similar terms by adding "OR" between terms, e.g., results OR findings

To help ensure that you are finding scholarly materials, look for options that allow you to limit to Scholarly or Peer-Reviewed.

If a full-text link isn't provided, click the Get it! Cornell link to locate the full-text.

Ask a Librarian if you don't find the full text!

 

 

Selected databases

Note:

Searching Google for a specific article is often (but not always) a quick way to get to the full text of the article. In many cases, you are getting access because the Cornell library subscribes to the journal and Google "sees" the Cornell IP address. Off-campus, you won't have the same access (but see Passkey).

To do a comprehensive topic search, use the library's databases.

Web Accessibility Assistance