Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Cornell University Library Guides - Michael Engle

Reference Help

Profile Image
Michael Engle
Contact Info:
106 Olin Library
255-1884
View my VIVO profile here:
http://vivo.cornell.edu/display/individual22712

Guides

Biographical Resources: A Research Guide
by Michael Engle - Last Updated Feb 5, 2014
Find biographical information in resources licensed by the Cornell Library. Click on the PURPLE TABS to access each section in this guide.
Tags: biography, reference, research_guides
Book Reviews: A Finding Guide
by Michael Engle - Last Updated Oct 31, 2013
Access to critical reviews of thousands of books. Click on the PURPLE TABS to access each section.
Tags: book_reviews, literature, research_guides
British Sessional Papers and Parliamentary Debates
by Michael Engle - Last Updated Apr 3, 2014
A finding guide for British Parliamentary papers and debates held in Olin Library or accessible online. Click on the PURPLE TABS to access each section.
Tags: government_documents, great_britain
Citation Styles: Handbooks, Resources, and Guides
by Michael Engle - Last Updated Feb 6, 2014
Advice about proper citation with a list of print titles and links to online style guides, manuals, and handbooks: MLA, APA, Chicago, Turabian, CSA, ACS, and more.
Tags: bibliography, citation_formats, reference, research_guides, style_guides
Cornell University History: A Research Guide
by Michael Engle - Last Updated Feb 11, 2014
Click on the purple tabs to access each section.
Tags: cornell_university, education, history, research_guides
Critically Analyzing Information Sources
by Michael Engle - Last Updated Sep 5, 2013
Ten things to look for when you evaluate an information source.
Tags: evaluating_sources, research_guides
Current Topics: Selected Information Sources
by Michael Engle - Last Updated Jul 18, 2013
The primary focus of this guide is finding quick, current information--digests that synthesize content from disparate sources. Click on the PURPLE TABS to access each section of this guide.
Tags: current_awareness, government_law_public_policy, research_guides, statistics
Dissertations and Theses: A Finding Guide
by Michael Engle - Last Updated Apr 7, 2014
Where and how to look for Cornell and non-Cornell dissertations and theses. Click on the PURPLE TABS to see each section.
Tags: cornell_university, dissertations, research_guides, theses
Distinguishing Scholarly from Non-Scholarly Periodicals: A Checklist of Criteria
by Michael Engle - Last Updated Sep 12, 2013
Cues for recognizing scholarly journals, news sources, popular magazines, and sensational periodicals. Click on the PURPLE TABS for ways to recognize scholarly articles, substantive news sources and popular magazines.
Ebooks at Cornell
by Michael Engle, Maureen Morris - Last Updated Oct 4, 2013
Tags: ebooks, workshops
Education and Career Reference Sources: A Guide
by Michael Engle - Last Updated Jun 28, 2013
Click on the PURPLE TABS to access each section of this guide.
Tags: careers, education, research_guides
Encyclopedias Online: Use Subject Encyclopedias to Understand Your Topic
by Michael Engle - Last Updated Mar 3, 2014
Use our extensive collection of online encyclopedias to get the context and background for any research topic from scholars and experts. Resources in each category are listed in order of the breadth and depth of the subject coverage.
Tags: encyclopedias, online_resources, reference, research, research_guides
ENGL 1105.104: Writing and Sexual Politics--Gender and Native America (Fall 2013)
by Michael Engle - Last Updated Oct 31, 2013
A research guide for students in Lena Krian's English 1105 class. Click on the PURPLE TABS to access each section of this guide.
Tags: native_american, queer_theory, sexuality_studies, uris_fall2013
ENGL 1111: Tools for Time Travel (Fall 2013)
by Michael Engle - Last Updated Oct 31, 2013
Resources for students who are following citations and finding other means of traveling through time. Click on the PURPLE TABS to access each section.
Tags: time, uris_fall2013
ENGL 1167.105: Great New Books (Fall 2013)
by Michael Engle - Last Updated Oct 31, 2013
A guide to library resources and services for researchers in Emily Oliver's English 1167 class. Click on the PURPLE TABS to access each section of this guide.
Tags: literature, uris_fall2013
ENGL 1167: Great New Books (Spring 2014)
by Michael Engle - Last Updated Apr 9, 2014
A guide to library resources and services for researchers in Karen Elterman's English 1167 class. Click on the PURPLE TABS to access each section of this guide.
Tags: literature, uris_fall2013
ENGL 1270.102: Writing About Literature, Banned Books (Fall 2012)
by Michael Engle - Last Updated Sep 27, 2012
A research guide for students in English 1270.
Tags: censorship, literature, uris_fall2012
ENGL 2890: Teenagers Gone Wild (Spring 2013)
by Michael Engle - Last Updated Mar 21, 2013
Researching the culture of U.S. teenagers since World War II for Kelly King-O'Brien's writing class. Click on the PURPLE TABS to access each section of this guide.
Tags: english, first_year_writing_seminars, popular_culture, uris_spring2013
Feminist, Gender, and Sexuality Studies: A Research Guide
by Michael Engle, Brenda Marston - Last Updated Apr 1, 2014
A guide to discovering the extensive FGSS resources available in the Cornell University Library and beyond. Click on the PURPLE TABS to access each section in this guide.
Tags: feminism, gender, research_guides, sexuality_studies, women
FGSS 2010: Introduction to FGSS (Fall 2013)
by Michael Engle - Last Updated Oct 31, 2013
Resources for students studying gender, feminism, sexuality, and LGBT issues. Click on the PURPLE TABS to access each section.
Tags: feminism, gender, sexuality, sexuality_studies, uris_fall2013, women's studies
Folklore, Fairytales, and Symbolism: A Research Guide
by Michael Engle - Last Updated Nov 27, 2013
Click on the PURPLE TABS to access each section of this guide.
Tags: anthropology, fairy_tales, folklore, humanities, research_guides, symbolism
German Studies 1109: From Fairy Tales to the Uncanny (Spring 2014)
by Michael Engle - Last Updated Apr 8, 2014
A guide to research strategy and library resources, in print and online for Ekaterina Pirozhenko's class.
Tags: fairy_tales, linguistics_language_literature, uris_fall2013, uris_spring2014
International Cities: Information & Statistics
by Michael Engle - Last Updated Apr 14, 2014
This guide focuses on resources that provide difficult-to-find data and other information about individual cities outside the United States, including some comparative sources. I have excluded country-level data and information resources.
Tags: cities, city_regional_planning, data, statistics, urban_studies
Internet Reference Links Selected by Olin Reference Staff
by Michael Engle - Last Updated Dec 28, 2011
A selection of web sites that answer frequently-asked reference questions. Click on the PURPLE TABS to access each section of this guide.
Tags: government_law_public_policy, reference, research_guides
Ithaca High School AP Spanish: A Research Guide (Spring 2013)
by Michael Engle - Last Updated May 31, 2013
Where and how to find criticism and background information on authors writing in Spanish. Click on the PURPLE TABS to see individual sections.
Tags: course_guide, ithaca_high_school, spanish, uris_spring2011, uris_spring2013
Japanese Studies in English: A Research Guide
by Michael Engle, Dan Mckee - Last Updated Sep 25, 2012
Click on the PURPLE TABS to access each section of the guide.
Tags: area_studies, japan, research_guides
Language Dictionaries Online: A Guide
by Michael Engle - Last Updated Aug 5, 2013
Limited to online full-text language dictionaries, primarily those the Cornell University Library has purchased outright or subscribes to. Click on the PURPLE TABS to access each section of this guide.
Tags: dictionaries, language_dictionaries, reference, research_guides
Library Research at Cornell
by Michael Engle - Last Updated Mar 7, 2014
A stepwise guide to efficient research using the Cornell University Library.
Tags: library_research, research_guides, research_strategies
LING 1100.101: Biological Foundations of Language (Spring 2014)
by Michael Engle - Last Updated Mar 10, 2014
A research guide for Chelsea Sanker's linguistics class. CLICK ON THE PURPLE TABS TO ACCESS EACH SECTION OF THIS GUIDE.
Tags: course_guide, language, linguistics, uris_fall2013, uris_spring2014
LING 1100.101: How to Build a Language (Spring 2013)
by Michael Engle - Last Updated Oct 25, 2013
An online guide to research in linguistics for students in LING 1100.101.
Tags: language, linguistics, uris_spring2013
Linguistics: A Research Guide
by Michael Engle - Last Updated Nov 26, 2013
This is an extensive, annotated list of the print and online resources available for research in linguistics. Click on the PURPLE TABS to access each section in this guide.
Tags: language, language_dictionaries, linguistics_language_literature, research_guides
New York State Documents: A Finding Guide
by Michael Engle - Last Updated Apr 3, 2014
Historical background on New York State documents with details on finding and viewing them in various formats (paper, microfiche, and electronic/online). Click on the PURPLE TABS to access each section.
Tags: government_documents
News Collections Online: News Databases
by Michael Engle - Last Updated Feb 26, 2014
Links to major online, full-text news sources, both current and historical in scope.
Tags: current_events, news, news_resources, newspapers, research_guides
News Research: Finding the News
by Michael Engle - Last Updated Oct 31, 2013
A chronological overview of the major resources for finding the news, both historical and recent, with advice for the news researcher. Formerly called Finding The News. Click on the PURPLE TABS to access all sections of this guide.
Tags: current_events, news, news_resources, newspapers, research_guides
News Resources for Africana and Latino Topics
by Michael Engle - Last Updated Jul 15, 2013
Historical and current news content from around the world and from specific ethnic groups is more available today than ever before. This guide highlights a selection of major resources for accessing that news.
Tags: news, news_resources, research, uris_spring2011, uris_spring2013
Newspaper Indexes in Olin Library--International
by Michael Engle - Last Updated Jul 15, 2013
This guide lists newspaper indexes currently or previously available in the Olin Library reference collection or in the Olin microform area.
Tags: news, news_resources, newspapers, research_guides
Newspaper Indexes in Olin Library--U.S.
by Michael Engle - Last Updated Feb 26, 2014
This guide lists newspaper indexes currently or previously available in the Olin Library reference collection or in the Olin microform area.
Tags: current_awareness, news, news_resources, newspapers, research_guides
Polling and Public Opinion Data: A Research Guide
by Michael Engle - Last Updated Sep 10, 2013
Click on the PURPLE TABS to access each section of this guide.
Tags: government_law_public_policy, research_guides, social_sciences, sociology
Primary, Secondary, and Tertiary Sources: A Quick Guide
by Michael Engle - Last Updated Apr 3, 2014
Understanding the differences among these three types of sources with examples for each type. Click on the PURPLE TABS to access each section.
Tags: research_guides, research_strategies
PSYCH 1140: The Power of Story-Telling (Fall 2013)
by Michael Engle - Last Updated Oct 31, 2013
Library research on narratives in literature, film, and psychology. Click on the PURPLE TABS to access research resources for your topics.
Tags: course_guide, literary_theory, narrative, uris_fall2012, uris_fall2013, uris_spring2013
Psychology Information for Faculty & Students
by Michael Engle - Last Updated Feb 15, 2013
A linked outline of the library's resources and research services available to psychology students and faculty; also a course guide for PSYCH 4910/6910: Research Methods in Psychology. Click on the PURPLE TABS to access each section in this guide.
Tags: course_guide, course_guides, psychology, research_guides, uris_spring2012, uris_spring2013
Psychology: A Research Guide
by Michael Engle - Last Updated Aug 26, 2013
Psychology research resources are available in several libraries on the Cornell campus. The strongest collections are in Olin Library and Mann Library. This guide lists major reference works in psychology. Click on the PURPLE TABS to access each section.
Tags: dictionaries, psychology, research_guides, social_sciences
Religion: A Research Guide
by Michael Engle - Last Updated Nov 26, 2013
Click on the PURPLE TABS to access each section in this guide.
Tags: humanities, reference, religion, research_guides
Research Minutes
by Kaila Bussert, Michael Engle - Last Updated Aug 21, 2013
"90 seconds of Research Tips for the Busy Student." Short videos on core topics in library research. Click on the PURPLE TABS to access each topic.
Tags: evaluating_sources, research, research_guides, research_strategies
ROMS 1103.101: Perspectives on Macho Madness (Spring 2012)
by Michael Engle, Susette Newberry - Last Updated Apr 25, 2012
A research guide for students in the ROMS 1103 class.
Tags: latin_america, literature, uris_fall2011, uris_spring2012, women
ROMS 1104: FWS: In the Face of Brutality (Spring 2012)
by Michael Engle, Sarah How, Susette Newberry - Last Updated Feb 19, 2014
Online guide to accompany the library session for "In the Face of Brutality"
Tags: comparative_literature, first_year_writing_seminars, romance_studies, uris_spring2012
SPAN 1103: Race and Nature in Latin America (Fall 2013)
by Michael Engle - Last Updated Oct 9, 2013
A research guide for students in Spanish 1103. Click on the PURPLE TABS to access each section of this guide.
Tags: latin_america, spanish, uris_fall2013
SPAN 1107: Music in Film and Literature (Spring 2012)
by Michael Engle - Last Updated Sep 20, 2012
A guide to research in the Cornell libraries. Click on the PURPLE TABS to access each section in this guide.
Tags: course_guide, course_guides, film, literature, spanish, uris_fall2011, uris_spring2012
SPAN 1111: Transatlantic Revolutions (Fall 2012)
by Michael Engle - Last Updated Oct 24, 2012
A library research guide for Spanish 1111.
Tags: course_guide, course_guides, history, revolutions, uris_fall2012
SPAN 1117: Figurations of Disgust (Spring 2013)
by Michael Engle - Last Updated Apr 3, 2013
A library research guide for Spanish 1117. CLICK ON THE PURPLE TABS TO ACCESS EACH SECTION.
Tags: film, latin america, spanish, uris_spring2013
Spanish-Language Resources Online: A Research Guide
by Michael Engle - Last Updated Mar 7, 2014
A guide to Spanish-language reference dictionaries and encyclopedias, databases, and major internet resources.
Tags: area_studies, spanish
State Census Information: A Research Guide
by Michael Engle - Last Updated Feb 8, 2013
Data from historical state-level censuses are more difficult to find than U.S. Census data. Here are reference sources and locations for state census data in our collections. Click on the PURPLE TABS to access each section in this guide.
Tags: census_data, government_law_public_policy, research_guides
STS 1123: Technology and Society: Natural Disasters (Spring 2011)
by Michael Engle - Last Updated Sep 1, 2011
A guide to finding background information and media articles about natural disasters.
Tags: course_guide, disasters, news, science_technology, uris_spring2011
STS 1126: Technology and Society: Social Movements and Technologies (Fall 2011)
by Michael Engle - Last Updated Feb 1, 2012
Introduction to library resources for social technologies research.
Tags: course_guide, media, social_networking, uris_fall2011
WRIT 1370: An Introduction to Writing in the University (Fall 2012)
by Michael Engle - Last Updated Mar 6, 2013
A research guide for Kelly King-O'Brien's Writing 1370 sections
Tags: course_guide, u.s._history, uris_fall2012
WRIT 1380: Introduction to Writing: International Adoption (Spring 2014)
by Michael Engle - Last Updated Feb 12, 2014
International Adoption in the 20th Century--Kelly King-O'Brien's first-year writing seminar. Click on the PURPLE TABS to access each section of this guide.
Tags: adoption, current_events, first_year_writing_seminars, uris_fall2013, uris_spring2013, uris_spring2014, writing
WRIT 1380: Writing Workshop: Researching Food Policy (Spring 2012)
by Michael Engle - Last Updated Mar 6, 2013
A guide to research on food policy. Click on the PURPLE TABS to access each section in this guide.
Tags: course_guides, food, policy, uris_fall2011, uris_spring2012
 
 
Description

  Loading...