Skip to main content

Pre-Seed Workshop 2014: PreSeed FAQ

Research Help

Contact Jeremy Cusker, Dan Hickey, and Drew Wright for further assistance via email or consultation:

  • jpc27@cornell.edu
  • dhickey@cornell.edu
  • drw2004@med.cornell.edu.

Visit our library websites for access to databases:

Sample Business Plans

If you've never looked at an actual business plan, you may be surprised at the amount of research involved in making the business case. Here are few options, including past plans written by student peers.

  1. Selected top plans from previous NBA 507 classes -- Prof. Schneider places 10 or so plans on reserves at the Management Library. Cornell students may borrow these for 2-hour periods. Search the library catalog reserves materials to see the full list or plans available for the class. <TIP: Choose "Course Reserve" on the main screen of the catalog, then search by instructor name or class number.>
     
  2. Plans from previous NBA 300/NCC 564 classes -- Most plans from Prof. BenDaniel's entrepreneurship classes are available for review in the Management Library. They may not leave the library. These plans are in a filing cabinet next to the 2nd floor elevator. Use the nearby paper index to scan quickly through the plans.
     
  3. Electronic plans via Small Business Resource Center -- The Small Business Resource Center database includes sample business plans as well as "how to" articles and information for starting a new business. <TIP: Click the "Sample Plans" button on the right side of the main page.>

Frequently Asked Questions about Entrepreneurship

The Management Library has created answers to frequently asked questions concerning various aspects of entrepreneurship. Click through the hyperlinks below to go directly to the resource(s) mentioned.

Entrepreneurship FAQ

  1. "How do I find library resources for entrepreneurship?"
  2. "Does the library have copies of sample business plans?
  3. "How do I find similar companies in my industry?"
  4. "Where can I find industry overviews?"
  5. "Where can I find information about start-ups?"
  6. "Where can I find information on starting a small business?"
  7. "How do I find information about venture capital?"
  8. "Where can I find information about patents and trademarks?"
  9. "Where can I find information about incorporation?"
  10. "What tax and legal issues should entrepreneurs prepare for?"

1. "How do I find library resources for entrepreneurship?"

Consult our Entrepreneurship Resource List for a selection of library resources in many fields of entrepreneurship.

Use the Library Catalog to search for items pertaining to entrepreneurship. Here are a few suggestions:

  • 100 Great Businesses and the Minds Behind Them (HF5386 R665 in the Management Library)
  • Business Plans Made Easy (HD30.28 H474 in the Management Library)
  • Entrepreneurship: Successfully Launching New Ventures (HB615 B374 in the Engineering Library)
  • Making Ecopreneurs: Developing Sustainable Entrepreneurship (NC79 E5 M34 in the Management Library)
  • The Entrepreneur's Information Sourcebook (HD62.5 A96 in the Management Library)

The Management Library offers workshops each semester, including classes for entrepreneurship.

 


2. "Does the library have copies of sample business plans?"

The Management Library keeps student business plans from Cornell’s Entrepreneurship Courses (NBA 300 and NBA 564) for three years. They are shelved in filing cabinets on the second floor of the library. These business plans are indexed by industry description and can only be used in the library. Business plans for NBA 507 are on course reserve; please ask for them at the circulation desk. They can be checked out for two hours. These business plans are for educational use only.

The Management Library also has a copy of Business Plans Handbook: A Compilation of Actual Business Plans Developed by Small Businesses Throughout North America (HD62.7 B865 in Ready Reference).

 


3. "How do I find similar companies in my industry?"

Please refer to our Industry Research FAQs for the answer to this question.

 


4. "Where can I find industry overviews?"

Please refer to our Industry Research FAQs for the answer to this question.

 


5. "Where can I find information about start-ups?"

One of the best ways to find information about start-ups is to keep up-to-date with business news and industry publications, such as Entrepreneur, Brandweek, Inc., Business 2.0, etc.

For more information on searching for business articles, consult our Article Research FAQs.

Industry analyst reports can be useful sources of information about start-ups. Analysts assess industries in order to determine which ones make the best investment prospects and research the internal and external forces shaping the industry. Full-text analyst reports are available from Investext Plus.

 


6. "Where can I find information on starting a small business?"

The web site of the Small Business Administration provides a great deal of information on starting and managing a small business.

The Federal Citizen Information Center inlcudes links to resources for small business owners.

The web site of the State of New York provides information on a wide range of issues for new businesses in New York.

Use the Library Catalog to search for items pertaining to starting a small business. Here are a few suggestions:

  • The Business Start-Up Kit (HD62.5 S79 - available as an eBook)
  • Economics of Self-Employment and Entrepreneurship (HD30.22 P376)
  • Financial Studies of the Small Business (HD2346 U5 F49 in Ready Reference)

 


7. "How do I find information about venture capital?"

Consult our Venture Capital Resource Guide for library resources and links to additional VC web sites.

Thomson One Banker provides extensive venture capital data, under the Private Equity tab.

Use the Library Catalog to search for items pertaining to venture capital. Here are a few suggestions:

  • Venture Capital Journal (HG3729 U5 V46 in Current Periodicals or electronically through Factiva)
  • Pratt's Guide to Private Equity Sources (HG65 G94 in Ready Reference)
  • The Handbook of Financing Growth: Strategies and Capital Structure (HG4027.7 H355)

8. "Where can I find information about patents and trademarks?"

The web site of the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office allows free searching for patent and trademark information and includes a wide collection of How To Guides and Frequently Asked Questions.

Cornell's Engineering Library has put together a Resource Guide for detailed information about patent searching.


9. "Where can I find information about incorporation?"

Business.gov provides useful information on all aspects of launching a business, including incorporation details for each state.

The Research Center at BizFilings.com answers questions about forming a corporation, limitied liability company (LLC), or nonprofit.

Information about incorporation in New York can be found on the web site of the State of New York. In addition, most states (and some counties) provide links to business information on their web sites.


10. "What tax and legal issues should entrepreneurs prepare for?"

Legal Guide for Starting and Running a Small Business (KF1659 Z9 S82 in the Law Library) will provide a good introduction to many of the legal and tax issues facing entrepreneurs.

The Internal Revenue Service has compiled a selection of resources for the small business owner.

You can browse or search the complete text of the United States Internal Revenue Code from the U.S. Tax Code On-Line web site.