Skip to main content

Guide for PMA 3550: Global Cinema I: Home

A short list of library resources for students in Prof. Haenni's PMA 3550 class.

Brief Guide to Film Resources

This is just an abbreviated list. Many more film resources are listed at: http://guides.library.cornell.edu/filmbib

The Library Catalog
Use the library catalog to locate books and journals. Note that the catalog does not contain records for individual periodical articles, but only for the journals themselves. Use the Articles & Full Text option to search for online journal articles across many different databases. Articles in print-only journals are not included.


Printed Reference Sources:
Routledge Encyclopedia of Film Theory. Olin Reference PN1995 R6855 2014+
Routledge Encyclopedia of Films. Olin Reference PN1995 R6857 2015 +
Dictionary of Film Terms. Olin Reference PN1993.45 B33 2007
Critical Dictionary of Film & Television Theory. Olin Reference PN1993.45 C75x 2001+
Queer Encyclopedia of Film and Television. Olin Reference PN1590 G39 Q44 2005 +
New Historical Dictionary of the American Film Industry. Olin Reference PN 1993.5 U6 S539x 1998+
Women Filmmakers and Their Films. Olin Reference PN 1998.2 W66x 1998+
Film Noir: an Encyclopedic Reference to the American Style. Olin Reference PN 1993.5 U6 F48 1988
Retrospective Index to Film Periodicals, 1930-1971. Olin Reference PN 1993 B33+

See the film researcguide for more, or browse the Olin Reference collection in the call number range PN 1993 through PN 1999.

Online Resources:
Find these by title in either Databases or the Library Catalog. See the class web page for descriptions. Periodical databases identify articles in journals, magazines, and newspapers. Some provide access to the full text of the articles. This is only a selection, so browse through the subject categories in Databases to identify more.

 

Reference Sources Online: Periodical Indexes:
Oxford Bibliographies: Cinema and Media Studies
International Dictionary of Films and Filmmakers


Film Review Sources Online
Entertainment Industry Magazine Archive
ProQuest Historical Newspapers
ProQuest Research Library
Readers' Guide Retrospective: 1890-1982
Media History Digital Library

MLA International Bibliography
Humanities International Index
Performing Arts Periodicals Database
FIAF International Filmarchive Database
Film Literature Index
Communication & Mass Media Complete
JSTOR
Project MUSE

 

Need more help? Just ask:
http://www.library.cornell.edu/ask


Subject Librarian

Fred Muratori's picture
Fred Muratori
Help from a librarian (you might not get me) is only a click away:

Contact Info:
106 Olin Library
Cornell University
(607) 255-6662
Send Email