Skip to main content

Master Your Future: Library Resources and Strategies for Research: Top Databases

Finding journal articles, ebooks, conference proceedings, standards, patents, etc.

Top Engineering Resources

Information Needs:

Cornell Library Catalog has records for 8 million books and thousands of journals and articles. May lack the complete coverage of INSPEC, Compendex, and Web of Science.
IEEE Xplore is the premier electrical and computing engineering full-text database for ECE.
 
INSPEC has scholarly journal articles and conference papers covering physics, electronic, computing, materials science. Engineering Village coveres all engineering fields.
Web of Science searches major science journals across disciplines.Tracks the number of times articles and authors are cited by others. Includes Science Citation Index (1900 - present), Conference Proceedings Citation Index, Journal citations reportsEssential Science Indicators, and Derwent Innovations (patents) databases.
EBooks and More Below
 
CRC EngNetBase (also MaterialsNetBase, NanoNetBase, ChemicalEngineeringNetBase, ChemNetBase) has over 2,000 books by CRC and Taylor & Francis, including Dekker's Encyclopedia of Nanoscience and Nanotechnology.
Access Engineering has hundreds of e-books and online tutorials illustrating engineering concepts, including Schaum's Outlines.
 2,000 technical e-books on many engineering subjects. Good for searching data.
Over 400 lectures on artificial intelligence, communication networks, electrical engineering, human-centered informatics, synthetic biology, and life sciences. Books are 50- to 200 pages in length and authored by a prominent contributor to the field.
Thesis & Dissertations
Includes over 2 million entries to doctoral dissertations and masters theses from 1861 to the present. Dissertations from 1980 forward include abstracts. Some are in PDF full-text. Sample Master of Engineering Project Reports are archived here.
Vast collection of industry-leading standards published by the American Society for Testing of Materials covering many engineering disciplines. Journals are also included.
Besides Google Patents there is Derwent, which includes value-added patent title descriptions and citation information to world and US patents from 1963 to date.
Take a break! Overdrive has popular online books available for check-out onto your electronic devices.

Engineering Librarian

Jill Powell
Contact:
103A Carpenter Hall
Engineering Library
Cornell University
Ithaca, NY 14853
jhp1@cornell.edu
engrref@cornell.edu
607-255-8701
Subjects:Engineering

Passkey

Off-campus? Log in once with this browser bookmarklet that connects you to all the Library's databases and journals with a single Cornell log-in.