Skip to main content

Martin Luther King, Jr. Resources: Encyclopedias

Reference Resources

Encyclopedias are great for:

  • choosing a topic
  • educating yourself quickly
  • perspective on a topic
  • variant spellings, vocabulary, terminology
  • bibliography


Encyclopedia Sources

Online Resources:

Biography on Martin Luther King, Jr. - Besides an essay on Martin Luther King, Jr., this site which is maintained by the Martin Luther King, Jr. Research and Education Institute at Stanford University, contains an online encylopedia, a chronlogy on King's life and a host of other resources on MLK and the civil rights movement. 

New Georgia Encyclopedia - A brief biography of Martin Luther King, Jr., video clips of King also included. 


 Print Resources: 

The Martin Luther King, Jr., Encyclopedia - This book provides a reference for students, teachers, researchers, and general readers in high school and up. Africana Library Reference ( Non-Circulating) E185.97.K5 M334 2008  

Free At Last: A Bibliography of Martin Luther King, Jr. - This book provides a listing of works on and about Martin Luther King, Jr. Uris Library A.D. White Z8464.44 .F53  

Martin Luther King, Jr.: An Annotated Bibliography - This book provides an annotated listing of resources on the life and works of Martin Luther King, Jr. Africana Library Z8464.44 .P99  

Guide to Research on Martin Luther King, Jr., and the Modern Black Freedom Struggle - This book is published by Martin Luther King, Jr. Papers Project, Stanford University. Uris Library A.D. White Z1361.N39 G82x 1989 

Web Accessibility Assistance