Skip to main content

German Studies: A Research Guide: Reference
Sources

A research guide focussed on German-language resources, print and online, available from the Cornell University Library.

Selected Reference Sources

Note: German-language resources are indicated by

General Encyclopedias and Guides

Brockhaus Enzyklopädie in vierundzwanzig Bänden. Edition: 19, völlig neu bearb. Aufl. Mannheim: Brockhaus, Bd.1-30 (1986-1996). (Olin Ref AE 27 .B86 1986); mit Jahrbuch, 1993-2012. (Olin Ref AE 27 .B8603)

Other Titles: Brockhaus Enzyklopädie Deutsches Wörterbuch Brockhaus Enzyklopadie. Jahrbuch. Grosse Brockhaus. Previous edition published under title: Der Grosse Brockhaus. Continues with v. 25: index; v. 26-28: Deutsches Wörterbuch; v. 29: Wörterbuch Englisch; v. 30: Ergänzungen. Includes index.

Duden: das neue Lexikon in zehn Bänden .... [redaktionelle Leitung, Joachim Weiss]. Edition: 3. Mannheim: Dudenverlag, 1996. 10 volumes. (Olin Ref AE 27 .N48 1996)
Formerly: Das Neue Duden-Lexikon.
Encyclopedia of Contemporary German Culture. Edited by John Sandford. New York: Routledge, 1999. (Olin Ref DD 290.26 E53x 1999)

A one-volume reference source for people, events, topics, and things related to post-1945 German culture (society, politics, the arts, etc.), both canonical and popular. Each entry notes suggestions for further reading, both in German and English. Indexed.

German Culture and Society: The Essential Glossary. Edited by Holger Briel. London: Arnold, 2002. (Olin Ref DD 67 .G475x 2002)
"From advertising and 'Bauhaus' to 'Volkshochschule' and World War II, this text gives an interdisciplinary overview of German culture and society, and is a route map to further study. Designed specifically with undergraduates in mind, it contains concise and accessible explanations of the essential issues, events and concepts in Germany, beginning in 1918 and including key words and figures. Covering history, politics, popular culture, private life, cultural institutions and social structures, the entries are fully cross-referenced and assume no prior knowledge." - amazon.uk
Modern Germany: An Encyclopedia of History, People, and Culture, 1871-1990. New York: Garland, 1998. (Olin Ref DD 14 .M64x 1998 +)
This two volume work covers all aspects of German civilization from 1871 to 1990. There are biographical articles: "Marx," "Freud," as well as topics: "Philosophy," although the topical articles are somewhat brief. Signed articles are written by experts, who also provide some bibliography, much of it in English. The articles have many cross-references and the work is enhanced by a thorough index. Good for background on the late 19th and 20th Century Germany.

Dictionaries

A variety of German-language dictionaries can be found in Olin Reference and in the Olin 6th floor stacks under the classification PF 3625. German-English dictionaries are classed as PF 3640.

Munzinger Online
Portal to seventeen German language dictionaries published by Duden, both specialized and general.
Oxford Language Dictionaries Online
Comprehensive, searchable bilingual dictionary of German. French, Spanish, Italian, Russian, and Chinese bilinguals are also available in this database.
Das Grosse Wörterbuch der deutschen Sprache in 6 Bänden. Mannheim: Bibliographisches Institut, 1976-1981. 6 volumes. (Olin Ref PF 3625 .G87)
Duden: Das grosse Wörterbuch der deutschen Sprache in zehn Bänden. Herausgegeben vom Wissenschaftlichen Rat der Dudenredaktion. Edition: 3, völlig neu beararbeitete und erw. Aufl. Mannheim: Dudenverlag, 1999. 10 volumes. (Olin Ref PF 3625 .D825x 1999)
Newer edition of the above.
The Oxford-Duden Pictorial German-English Dictionary. 2nd edition. New York: Oxford University Press, 1994. (Olin Ref PF 3629 .O98 1994)
Subject-arranged dictionary that correlates illustrations of objects with the German and English terms by which they are known.

Directories

Directory of German Studies. DAAD/Monatshefte. Madison, WI: German Studies Information; New York: German Academic Exchange Service (DAAD). (Olin Library Stacks PF 3068 .U6 D59)
Contains listings and contact information for German Studies departments, programs, and faculties in the United States and Canada. Issued by Monatshefte and Max Kade Institute, University of Wisconsin-Madison, 2000.

Bibliographies

Gesamtverzeichnis des deutschsprachigen Schrifttums (GV): 1700-1910. Bearb. unter d. Leitung von Peter Geils u. Willi Gorzny. München: Saur, 1979-1987. 160 volumes. (Olin Ref Z 2221 .G38+);
Gesamtverzeichnis des deutschsprachigen Schrifttums (GV): 1911-1965. Hrsg. von Reinhard Oberschelp; Bearb. unter der Leitung von Willi Gorzny. München: Verlag Dokumentation, 1976- . 150 volumes. (Olin Ref Z 2221 .G39+)

Biographical Dictionaries

Allgemeine deutsche Biographie (ADB). Leipzig: Duncker & Humblot, 1875-1912. 56 volumes. (Olin Stacks CT 1053 .A43 1875a). Open access online version (Historische Kommission bei der Bayerischen Akademie der Wissenschaften und der Bayerischen Staatsbibliothek, 2003).
Biographische Nachschlagewerke. Wikisource. San Francisco: Wikimedia Foundation.
Extensive listing of German-language biographical reference sources that have been digitized and made freely available online.
Deutsche biographische Enzyklopädie (DBE). Herausgegeben von Walther Killy; München ; New Providence: K.G. Saur, 1995-2000. 12 volumes in 14. (Olin Ref CT 759 .D48 1995)
Das in Umfang und Abgeschlossenheit einzigartige historisch-biographische Nachschlagewerk enthält biographische Artikel und Einzelporträts von 60.000 Personen, aus der Zeit Karls des Großen bis zum Ende des 20. Jahrhunderts. Sie alle haben in ihrer Zeit und darüber hinaus die Geschichte Deutschlands, Österreichs und der Schweiz geprägt und beeinflußt, ob sie nun in der öffentlichkeit, in der Politik, Wirtschaft, Kunst, Kultur oder Wissenschaft gewirkt haben. Das Lesen in ihren Lebensläufen vermittelt den Zugang zur Geschichte, durch die Menschen, die Geschichte machten. English translation available at Olin Ref CT 759 .D48 2001
Deutsches biographisches Archiv. Neue Folge bis zur Mitte des 20. Jahrhunderts [microform]: eine Kumulation aus 284 der wichtigsten biographischen Nachschlagewerke für den deutschsprachigen Bereich. herausgegeben von Willi Gorzny. [München; New York]: K.G. Saur, [1990?-1993]. (Olin Ref Microfiche CT 1053 .D48 1990, shelved in Microforms Alcove on the B Level)
A cumulation of 284 biographical lexica, published up to and including the mid-20th century. Coverage of 19th century material has been increased following further research which brought to light a number of new 19th century sources. These have been included together with biographical sources published in the 20th century. The end of World War II was chosen as a cut-off point for this project; some titles from the 1950's and 1960's, however, which were considered valuable in helping to form a picture of the social, cultural and academic regeneration of Germany have also been included. (Saur)
Neue deutsche Biographie (NDB). Berlin: Duncker & Humblot, 1953- . 25 volumes to date (through Teck). (Olin Ref CT 1053 .A44 +). Open access online version (Historische Kommission bei der Bayerischen Akademie der Wissenschaften und der Bayerischen Staatsbibliothek, 2005).
Successor to the Allgemeine deutsche Biographie (ADB) (above), the NDB covers over 21,800 individuals and families so far who lived in the German language area (through Franz Tecklenborg).

Statistical Sources

Statistisches Jahrbuch ... für die Bundesrepublik Deutschland. Statistisches Bundesamt, Herausgeber. Stuttgart : Metzler-Poeschel, 1992- . Annual. (Olin Stacks HA 1232 .A32+. Latest volume in Olin Reference)

 

Es bietet in 26 Kapiteln Ausführliche Informationen zu demographischen, ökonomischen, sozialen und kulturellen Gegebenheiten und Entwicklungen in Deutschland. Über die Entwicklung der Bevölkerung wird ebenso berichtet, wie über die Lage der Wirtschaft, des Arbeitsmarktes, über Löhne und Preise sowie die Staatsfinanzen. Angaben zum Bildungs- und Gesundheitswesen, über kulturelle Einrichtungen und Freizeit sowie Trends bei den Sozialleistungen und im Umweltbereich vervollständigen das Bild.

German Studies Selector

Kizer Walker

Reference Help

Michael Engle
106 Olin Library
(607) 255-1884
moe1@cornell.edu
Cornell University Library

Subject Selector for
Reference; Anglo-American News

VIVO