Skip to main content

Images: a guide to finding visual resources: Image
Databases

Quick overview of searching for images in the databases Cornell University Library has built or licenses, as well as collections on the open web.

Find More Images - Image Collections by Subject

Image: screen shot of Cornell University Library home page search box with link. Images search option is pointed out with arrow.

Look for Image Collections by Subject

Go to the Images search from the library home page, then follow the link to Databases: ImagesThe more info link gives a description of the collection and a list of copyright restrictions that govern the re-use of images in each collection.  

Oxford Art

Oxford Art Online provides access to Grove Art Online, The Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, The Oxford Companion to Western Art, and The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms. Includes image partnerships with ARTstor, the British Museum, the Museum of Modern Art, the Metropolitan Museum of Art, Art Images for College Teaching, Art Resource, Artists Rights Society and numerous international art galleries and artists. Includes a digital image search.

Searches

There are two basic types of image searches:

  • Quick searches
  • Single collection searches

Start by disabling any pop-up blockers that your browser or browser toolbars may have activated. If you’re using a PC with Internet Explorer, you can hold down the control key while you click to launch a collection, which will override the pop-up blocker.

Vogue Archive

Cover of Vogue Magazine with link to launch database for Cornell patrons

Web Accessibility Assistance