Skip to main content

FDSC 2100: Food Analysis (Spring 2014): Finding Articles

About Mann

mann logo

Albert R.
Mann Library

mann-ref@cornell.edu

(607) 255-5406

Mann Library supports the instruction, research, and extension programs of Cornell University's College of Agriculture and Life Sciences and College of Human Ecology.

No matter where you are in the research process, we encourage you to ask for information consulting services. Email us your question or request a consultation. Reference librarians are here to assist.

Getting Started with Research

The tutorials and resources in this guide contain the information you'll need to complete your assignments.

 

By the end of this class you'll be able to:

  • Identify influential food science researchers, research groups, journals and articles in your subject area
  • Search article databases and retrieve highly cited peer-reviewed scholarly articles and the articles that cite them easily and efficiently
  • Find other important food science safety, food composition, and methods information
 

Finding Food Science Journals

Article Databases for Food Analysis

Cornell subscribes to several databases that can be used to find journal articles about food microbiology. The good news is that they all use the same user interface, via ISI Web of Knowledge.

Can I search all the ISI databases at once? Yes, you can search across "All Databases" in Web of Knowledge, which can sometimes be helpful, although you won't be able to analyze or refine your results by any database-specific fields, such as "FSTA Sections" and "CABICODES". We recommend that you search FSTA and Web of Science first, and then search the others as needed.

How are the ISI databases any better than Google Scholar, etc.? The ISI interface gives you powerful tools to analyze and filter your results, and the records provide much more detail about each article.

How to Find Scholarly Articles

The process of finding scholarly articles can be divided into two major steps:

1. Find out what articles have been written on a topic

  • Select an article database appropriate for your topic.
  • Search the database.
  • Refine your search terms.
  • Keep a record of article citations that look useful.

2. Find and access the full text of each article

  • Try the Get it! Cornell or Full Text link, if present.
  • Plan B: If the publisher's website doesn't let you access the article (especially if you are off campus), try using PassKey.
  • Plan C: Search for the title of the journal (not the article) in JAbbr or the Cornell library catalog.
  • Plan D: If the library's subscription doesn't cover the year of the journal you need, find the paper copy of the journal in the library stacks.
  • Plan E: If Cornell doesn't have the the issue at all, you can request it via Interlibrary Loan (a free service) and have it within a couple days.

And remember: you can always ask a librarian for help!

Using Web of Science

Need to find highly cited scholarly articles on nearly any topic? Try searching Web of Science, an important and useful multidisciplinary scholarly database. See the tutorial!

Web of Science