Historical Statistics
International Historical Statistics : Europe 1750-2005 by Publication Date: 2007Print title.
Provides key economic and social indicators for European countries over the last 255 years, serving as an essential reference source.
Statistical Sources for Social Research on Western Europe, 1945-1995 by Call Number: Online; and Olin Library stacks, HA 1107 .R68x 1998Publication Date: 1998
Bibliography of Official Statistical Yearbooks and Bulletins by Publication Date: 1986
South-Eastern European Monetary and Economic Statistics from the Nineteenth Century to World War II
A complete dataset is presented for each country, covering 6 broad groups of indicators: (1) monetary variables, (2) interest rates, (3) exchange rates, (4) government finances, (5) prices, production and labor, and (6) national accounts and population. Covers Albania, Austria-Hungary, Bulgaria, Greece, Romania, Serbia/Yugoslavia, and Turkey.
McCarthy, Justin. The Arab world, Turkey, and the Balkans (1878-1914) : a handbook of historical statistics. Boston, MA : G.K. Hall, c1982. (Firestone Noncirculating) HA4556 .M35 1982 and RECAP
Labbé, Morgane. La Nationalité, Une Histoire De Chiffres: Politique Et Statistiques En Europe Centrale (1848-1919). Paris: SciencesPo, les presses, 2019. Olin Library DAW1028.P64 L33 2019
- State, economy, and society in Western Europe 1815-1975 by Call Number: Olin Library Reference, D363 .S79Publication Date: 1983A data handbook in two volumes:
volume. 1. The growth of mass democracies and welfare states
volume. 2. The growth of Industrial societies and capitalist economics.
Historical statistics for selected countries
- La France en chiffres de 1870 à nos jours byPublication Date: [2015]Print title.
"Tout ce que fous avez toujours voulu savoir sur la France sans jamais avoir osé le demander."
More Internet Resources
- eiu.com (Economist Intelligence Unit)Cornell subscribes to this virtual library offering all of the EIU's publications: Country Report, Country Profile, CountryData, CityData, Market indicators and Forecasts.
- Eurodata Research ArchiveMannheim (Germany) University Center for European Studies.
- Intute:StatisticsBritish university resource which remains useful, as an archive of older data. Not updated after July 2011.
- A Guide to International and US Statistics SourcesOlin/Uris Library guide to finding social science statistical information by resource and topic.
Historical Statistics (by country)
Czechoslovakia
Historicka´ statisticka´ roc?enka C?SSR. Praha : SNTL, Nakl. technicke´ literatury ; Bratislava : ALFA, Vydavatel?stvo technickej a ekonomickej literatu´ry, 1985. (Stokes Library) Oversize HA1195 .H57 1985q.
Denmark
Statistisk Årbog (Denmark) (1896+ in Danish); Statistical Yearbook(2000+ in English)
Germany
histat: Historical Statistics
Historical statistics on Germany on a wide variety of topics. Free registration is required. See also About Historical Statistics (2010; pdf).
United Kingdom
Three centuries of UK macroeconomic data
Contains a broad set of historical data covering the UKnational accounts and other financial and macroeconomic data stretching back in some cases to the late 17th century.
Mitchell, B.R.British Historical Statistics:Cambridge: Cambridge University Press, 1988. (Firestone NonCirculating) HA1134 .M58 1988
Williams, L. J.Digest of Welsh historical statistics: 1974-1996. [Cardiff] : Government Statistical Service, 1998.
Williams, L. J.Digest of Welsh historical statistics. [Cardiff] : Government Statistical Service, 1985. (earliest statistics back to 1570; generally 1800s to 1970s) Much of the data has been digitized into datasets through the UKDS.To obtain a free account please register with the UKDS. (Firestone Noncirculating) HA1166 .W54q
Hungary
Magyarorsza´g 1989-2009 : a va´ltoza´sok tu¨kre´bren.
Iceland
Hagskinna : so¨gulegar hagto¨lur um I´sland = Icelandic historical statistics. Reykjavi´k : Hagstofa I´slands, 1997. Firestone Library: Non Circulating (Fnc) HA1495 .H34 1997
Ireland
Database of Irish Historical Statistics (Inactive)
Italy
Sommariodi statistichestorichedell’Italia, 1861-1975.
Annuario statistico Italiano. (1878+) Annual volumes, PDFs.
Norway
Historical Statistics. Statistics Norway. (1828+) (compilations and individual years)
Portugal
PortugueseHistorical Statistics. Lisboa: Instituto Nacional de Estatistica, 2001. (generally covers 1864-1998)
Anuário estatístico de Portugal / Statistical Yearbook of Portugal
PORDATA: Base de Dados Portugal Contemporâneo. Starts with 12 themes: population; health; education; social protection; employment and labor market; enterprises and personnel; family income and expenditure; housing and comfort; justice; culture; national accounts; and government accounts. Data potentially back to 1960 and for some areas subnational.
The East European and Soviet Data Handbook: Political, Social and Developmental Indicators, 1945-1975.New York, N.Y. : Columbia University Press ; Stanford, CA : Hoover Institution Press, 1981.
Soviet Economic Statistical Series. Slavic-Eurasian Research Center, Hokkaido University, Japan. (In Japanese and English)
Spain
Statistical Yearbook of Spain. (not a compilation but all yearbooks back to 1858)
Estadi´sticas histo´ricas de Espan~a : siglos XIX-XX.Bilbao : Fundacio´n BBVA, 2005. (Firestone Noncirculating) HA1554 .E88 2005. Covers 19th and 20th centuries in Spain.
Sweden
Historical Statistics.org. Some series dating back to 1260. Includes prices, wages, exchange rates, money supply, interest and stock returns, state loans, national accounts, and population for Sweden.
Historical statistics of Sweden. Stockholm, Allma¨nna fo¨rl., 1969. (Covers 1720-1967) Annex HA1525.A2. Library has v.1, covering 1720-1950.
Statistical Yearbook of Sweden 1914-2001. (not a compilation but all yearbooks)2002+are separate.
Switzerland
Historical statistics of Switzerland. Zurich : Chronos, c1996. Olin Library Oversize HA1605 .H65w 1996 ++
Historical statistics of Switzerland online. See the Working Paper for background on this project.