News Resources for Africana and Latino Topics: Online News
Resources

Historical and current news content from around the world and from specific ethnic groups is more available today than ever before. This guide highlights a selection of major resources for accessing that news.

Africana, Latin American/Latino, and Ethnic News

News Databases for Africana, Latin American, and Ethnic/Alternative News

 

News aggregators are online databases that bring together searching and access to multiple news providers. In most cases, they provide immediate access to the full text of the news sources. In some cases, they collect and point to or index the full-text sources maintained by individual newspapers, news publishers, and news sources, including television and radio. A few sources (e.g., CRL, ICON) point to extensive microform holdings.

Each entry contains the following information: database title; database URL; whether the library has a subscription (available to Cornell users only); and a brief description including the time period covered, the format of the content, and languages (no entry = English).

[Complete list at http://olinuris.library.cornell.edu/ref/newsdbases.html].

ABYZ News Links.
[http://www.abyznewslinks.com/]
A collection of links to news sites worldwide. Coverage: Current issues and some archives; see individual sources. Includes some streaming video and audio; television, radio, and online news sources. Many languages.

Access World News.
[http://resolver.library.cornell.edu/misc/5656506]; subscription.
(called America's Newspapers before 2005.) Coverage from roughly the mid-1980s on. Most sources are current. Over 2,700 newspapers and newswires, including some web-only titles. Also video from local television news programs. Some international coverage, but mainly Anglo-American titles. Includes many smaller newspapers in the U.S. Plain text and video. English and Spanish (Acceda Noticias).

Accessible Archives.
[http://resolver.library.cornell.edu/misc/6231497]; subscription.
Includes African-American Newspapers (9 titles), Civil War Newspapers (3 titles), and the Pennsylvania Gazette (1728-1800). Plain text.

African American Newspapers, the 19th Century. Available in previous entry, Accessible Archives.

African American Newspapers, 1827-1998. Part of America's Historical Newspapers. Readex. Coverage: 1827-1998.
[http://resolver.library.cornell.edu/misc/57195415]; subscription.
Plain text.

AltPressIndex. Baltimore: Alternative Press Center. Coverage: 1991 to date.
[http://resolver.library.cornell.edu/firs/4273365]; subscription.
Indexing only; OCLC FirstSearch interface.

Alt-PressWatch. ProQuest.
[http://resolver.library.cornell.edu/misc/4273487]; subscription.
Coverage mainly mid-1990s to date; a few titles to 1970s. Plain text.

America's Historical Newspapers. Readex/NewsBank.
[http://resolver.library.cornell.edu/misc/5719541]; subscription.
"Including Early American Newspapers Series 1 and 6, 1690-1922 and African American Newspapers, 1827-1998." Plain text and some images.

AP Images. Associated Press.
[http://resolver.library.cornell.edu/misc/3823610]; subscription.
Coverage for images, 1915 to date. Images and graphics; some full text and streaming audio.

Black Studies Center: Newspapers. ProQuest.
[http://encompass.library.cornell.edu/cgi-bin/checkIP.cgi?access=gateway_standard%26url=http://bsc.chadwyck.com]; subscription.
The Chicago Defender (1910-1975), New York Amsterdam News (1922-1993), Pittsburgh Courier (1911-2002). PDFs scanned from microfilm. English.

Center for Research Libraries Catalog. You can limit by Newspapers. More information about CRL's newspaper holdings here. See also entries for ICON: International Coalition on Newspapers and World Newspaper Archive, below.

Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers. NEH, Library of Congress, and the National Digital Newspaper Project.
Search and view newspaper pages from 1880-1920. PDFs. Site also has a searchable bibliography of US newspapers published between 1690 and the present. English.

Ethnic NewsWatch. ProQuest.
[http://resolver.library.cornell.edu/misc/2086708]; subscription.
Coverage: 1960 to date in two cross-searchable files. Plain text and PDF. English and Spanish.

Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) Daily Reports.
[http://resolver.library.cornell.edu/misc/6299594]; subscription.
Coverage: 1974-1996. Includes television and radio. English translations of content from news sources worldwide. Plain text. Continued by World News Connection. More information about FBIS.

Google News and Google News Archive
Archive in development. Enter site:news.google.com/newspapers in advanced search to limit to scanned articles only. Searchable PDFs. Spotty coverage for most titles, but some long runs of titles from the U.S., Canada, Australia, South Asia. A browseable title list that includes years covered for each title is available: http://news.google.com/newspapers

ICON: International Coalition on Newspapers: Titles Preserved through ICON. Bibliographic information only. List of international newspapers preserved on microfilm. Linked Center for Research Libraries catalog includes specific holdings. Titles available from CRL via ILL. ICON's searchable union list of international newspapers; good historical data with preservation status and holdings information.

Latin American Newsstand. ProQuest.
[http://resolver.library.cornell.edu/misc/6186153]; subscription.
Coverage: Mostly mid 2000s to date, some late 1990s. Plain text. In Spanish.

Library PressDisplay. ProQuest.
[http://resolver.library.cornell.edu/misc/6279917]; subscription.
Full-color PDFs. Coverage: current 60 days. All languages.

Mideastwire.com.
[http://resolver.library.cornell.edu/misc/5925460]; subscription.
Coverage: September 2005 to date. Selected articles from news sources and newsletters. Arabic and Farsi originals. English translations.

ProQuest Historical Newspapers.
[http://resolver.library.cornell.edu/misc/5071678]; subscription.
Searchable full text of the New York Times (1851-2007), Wall Street Journal (1889-1993), Washington Post (1877-1994), Chicago Tribune (1849-1987), Los Angeles Times (1881-1987), Chicago Defender (1910-1975), and Times of India (1838-2001). PDFs scanned from microfilm. English. Advertising content is searchable.

World News Connection.
[http://resolver.library.cornell.edu/misc/2887918]; subscription.
English translations of content from news sources worldwide. Coverage: 1995 to date. Includes television and radio. Plain text. Continues Foreign Broadcast Information Service.

World Newspaper Archive.
[http://www.crl.edu/collaborative-digitization/world-newspaper-archive]; available to Center for Research Library member institutions (Cornell is a member).
Three modules are available: Africa, Latin America, and South Asia. Coverage: around 1800 to 1922. Full text searchable PDFs. An important new source of primary news sources from these areas.

 

Digest News Sources, print and online:

Africa Research Bulletin: Economic, Financial, and Technical Series. Oxford, England: Blackwell, 1992 to date.
(online, 1997- ; print, 1964- [Olin DT 1 .A2364 +; latest volume in Reference])

Africa News Bulletin: Political, Social, and Cultural Series. Oxford, England: Blackwell, 1992 to date.
(online, 1997- ; print, 1964- [Olin DT 1 .A2365 +; latest volume in Reference])

African Chronicle: A Fortnightly Record on Governance, Economy, Development, Human Rights, and Environment. New Delhi: C.P. Chacko on behalf of Asian News Chroniclers, 2000 to date. (Previous title: African Recorder, 1962-1995, incomplete)
(African Chronicle: Africana Reference DT 1 .A2281; African Recorder: Olin + DT 1 .A2513)


Bibliographies of African newspapers:

African Newspapers in the Library of Congress. Washington: Library of Congress, 1984.
(available online via Hathi Trust; print version: Library Annex Z 6959 .Z9 L69 1984)

 

Reference Help

Michael Engle
106 Olin Library
(607) 255-1884
moe1@cornell.edu
Cornell University Library

Subject Selector for
Reference; Anglo-American News Sources

VIVO