Primary Source Databases
- Eighteenth Century Collections Online. (ECCO)
-
A comprehensive digital edition of The Eighteenth Century microfilm set, which has aimed to include every significant English-language and foreign-language title printed in the United Kingdom, along with thousands of important works from the Americas, between 1701 and 1800. Consists of books, pamphlets, broadsides, ephemera. When completed, the full collection will include nearly 150,000 titles and more than 33,000,000 pages of searchable material.
- ARTFL
(American & French Research on the Treasury of the French Language).
- Produced by the Dept. of Romance Languages and Literatures, Univ. of Chicago,
ARTFL is a database containing the full texts of major literary works in
French.
-
Literature Online. (LION)
-
A full-text collection of poetry, drama, and prose with complementary references sources.
Primary texts include English poetry from 600 to the present; American and
African-American poetry from 1603 to the present; English drama; English prose; articles,
monographs and dissertations from the Annual Bibliography of English Language and
Literature; full-text articles from literary journals; and biographical information on widely
studied authors. Subsumed in the database are the contents of several Chadwyck-Healey
CD-ROM products, including: The Bible in English; Database of African-American Poetry,
1760-1900; Database of Twentieth Century African American Poetry; Editions and
Adaptations of Shakespeare; and English Poetry.
Secondary Source Databases
- Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature. 1920- (ABELL)
- ABELL contains over 814,000 records covering monographs, periodical articles, critical editions of literary works, book reviews, collections of essays and doctoral dissertations published anywhere in the world from 1920 onwards. All aspects and periods of English literature are covered, from Anglo-Saxon times to the present day. British, American and Commonwealth writing are all represented. Coverage is international, including material in languages other than English.
- Historical Abstracts.
- This historical periodical database
includes annotated references to the history of the world from 1450 to
the present (excluding the U.S. andCanada which are covered in
"America: History and Life"). Covers over 2000 journals, including
historical journals from almost every country and selections of
journals in the social sciences and humanities for researchers and
students of history.
- Humanities International Index
- A comprehensive database covering journals, books and other
important reference sources in the humanities and provides
cover-to-cover indexing and abstracting for over 1,700 journals and
contains more than 1.5 million records. Humanities International Index
includes deep backfiles for some of the most important journals in the
area of humanities. The database includes all data from American
Humanities Index plus bibliographic records from a multitude of
international journals, books and reference works. This database
provides citations and abstracts for articles, essays and reviews, as
well as original creative works including poems, fiction, photographs,
paintings and illustrations.
- MLA Bibliography. New York: Modern Language Assn., 1926 -
- A bibliography covering languages, literatures, folklore, film and
linguistics worldwide, gathered from nearly 7,000 sources worldwide, including journal articles, books, and articles in books. Does not index book reviews.
Reference Sources
- Encyclopedia of Romanticism : culture in Britain, 1780s-1830s. Laura Dabundo, editor; New York : Garland Pub., 1992. Olin Library Reference DA529 .E53x 1992+
- Alphabetically arranged survey of the social, cultural, and intellectual climate of English Romanticism, including socioeconomic and scientific aspects of the era in addition to the literary, philosophical and artistic. Entries include brief bibliographies.
- The English romantic poets: a review of research and criticism. John Clubbe... [et al.] ; edited by Frank Jordan. New York : Modern Language Association of America, 1985. 4th ed. Olin Library Reference Z2014.P7 R27 1985
-
Literary research and the British Romantic Era : Strategies and Sources. Peggy Keeran, Jennifer Bowers. Lanham, Md.: Scarecrow Press, 2005. Olin Library PR457 .K44 2005 (note: this is a regular, circulating title, not Reference)
- Table of Contents
-
Oxford English Dictionary.
- The OED presents in alphabetical series the words that have formed
the English vocabulary from the time of the earliest records down to
the present day, with all the relevant facts concerning their form,
sense-history, pronunciation, and etymology. It embraces not only the
standard language of literature and conversation, but also the main
technical vocabulary, and a large measure of dialectical usage and
slang. This edition contains the complete A to Z sequence of the Second
Edition, its three-volume Additions Series, and also draft material
from the revision programme, which represents the latest progress
towards the Third Edition. Second edition available in print at Olin and Uris Reference PE1625 M98 1989
Guide to the Cornell Library Wordsworth Collection
(also see the printed inventory at Olin Library Reference Z8985 H43+)