Recommended Reference BooksRecommended Reference Databases
Specialized Subject Databases

Home

      
     Search:
   

 
Library News

Library News


 

Primary Research

  • Documenting the American South  
      
    Documenting the American South (DocSouth) is a digital publishing initiative that provides Internet access to texts, images, and audio files related to southern history, literature, and culture. Currently DocSouth includes ten thematic collections of book
  • "I will be heard!": Abolitionism in America  
      
    Documents our country’s intellectual, moral, and political struggle to achieve freedom for all Americans. Featuring rare books, manuscripts, letters, photographs, and other materials from Cornell’s pre-eminent anti-slavery and and Civil War collection
  • Making of America  
      
    A digital library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction.

 

 
Online Dictionaries

Use Google for quick checks on spelling and definitions.

(e.g. define plantocracy)

For more detailed analysis, use the Oxford English Dictionary (OED).


 
 

 
"I will be heard!": Abolitionism in America

Sojourner Truth
Sojourner Truth

 

 
Primary Research and Reference Materials

 Suggested texts from your course syllabus:

DuBois, W.E.B. Black Reconstruction

White, Deborah Gray. Ar'n't I a Woman? : Female Slaves in the Plantation South

Genovese, Eugene. The World the Slaveholders Made : Two Essays in Interpretation

_______________ Ed. The Slave Economies. Fox-Genovese, Elizabeth and Eugene Genovese. Fruits of Merchant Capital : Slavery and Bourgeois Property in

the Rise and Expansion of Capitalism.

Gaspar, David Barry and Darlene Clark Hine. Eds. More Than Chattel : Black Women and Slavery in the Americas. Lott, Tommy L. Ed. Subjugation and Bondage: Critical Essays on Slavery and Social Philosophy.

Thornton, John. Africa and Africans in the Making of the Atlantic world, 1400-1680.

Berlin, Ira. Many Thousands Gone : The First Two Centuries of Slavery in North America.

___________. Generations of Captivity : A History of African-American Slaves.

Berlin, Ira. Ed. et al. Remembering slavery : African Americans Talk About Their Personal Experiences of Slavery

and Freedom.

__________. Families and freedom : A Documentary History of African-American Kinship in the Civil War Era.

Patterson, Orlando. Rituals of blood : Consequences of Slavery in Two American Centuries

______________. Slavery and Social Death : A Comparative Study

Curtin, Philip D. The Rise and Fall of the Plantation Complex : Essays in Atlantic History

Stuckey, Sterling. Slave Culture : Nationalist Theory and the Foundations of Black America

Raboteau, Albert J. Slave religion : The "Invisible Institution" in the Antebellum South

Blassingame, John W. The slave community: Plantation Life in the Antebellum South

Blassingame, John. Ed. Slave Testimony : Two Centuries of Letters, Speeches, Interviews, and Autobiographies.

Sobel, Mechal. The World They Made together : Black and White Values in Eighteenth-Century

Hartman, Saidiya. Scenes of Subjection: Terror, Slavery, and Self-making in Nineteenth-Century America

 

Films: Ship of Slaves (Africana Studies Reserve) and Roots (Uris Library)


 
 

Ask a Librarian

Lance Heidig
facebook


VIVO


Ask a librarian


Contact Info:
104a Uris Library
Ithaca, NY 14853-5301
Phone: (607) 255-2954
Email: ljh5@cornell.edu
Email Me

My Subjects:
Reference, Instruction, Collection Development, Cornell New Student Reading Project, Book Collection Contest

Website / Blog
View other guides

 
Print This Page
Print Entire Guide



Description

  Loading content... please wait