Where to start if you...
...are looking for Scholarly Articles? Try the MLA Bibliography
...need a pre-1800 English text? Search ECCO
...aren't sure what "narratology" means? Check the Johns Hopkins Guide to Literary Theory & Criticism
...can't figure out the origin of the word "bodkin?" Look it up in the Oxford English Dictionary
...want basic biographical information on Thomas Hardy? Use the Literature Resource Center
...need to search the full text of Jane Eyre online? It's all in LION
Some core resources for this class

Primary Source Databases
- 19th Century Masterfile: a paratext resource
- 19th century masterfile/Poole's is a reference service for scholars, bibliographers, and students of the Nineteenth Century. An enhanced Web edition of William Frederick Poole's Index to Periodical Literature.
- Literature Online. (LION)
- A full-text collection of poetry, drama, and prose with complementary references sources. Primary texts include English poetry from 600 to the present; American and African-American poetry from 1603 to the present; English drama; English prose.
- Victorian women writers project Indiana University, [1995]-
- "The goal of the Victorian Women Writers Project is to produce highly accurate transcriptions of works by British women writers of the 19th century, encoded using the Standard Generalized Markup Language (SGML. The works...include anthologies, novels, political pamphlets, religious tracts, children's books, and volumes of poetry and verse drama." Contains full text of Braddon's Lady Audley's Secret.
Secondary Source Databases
- Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature. 1920- (ABELL)
- ABELL contains over 814,000 records covering monographs, periodical articles, critical editions of literary works, book reviews, collections of essays and doctoral dissertations published anywhere in the world from 1920 onwards. All aspects and periods of English literature are covered, from Anglo-Saxon times to the present day. British, American and Commonwealth writing are all represented. Coverage is international, including material in languages other than English.
- Historical Abstracts.
- This historical periodical database
includes annotated references to the history of the world from 1450 to
the present (excluding the U.S. andCanada which are covered in
"America: History and Life"). Covers over 2000 journals, including
historical journals from almost every country and selections of
journals in the social sciences and humanities for researchers and
students of history.
- Humanities International Index
- A comprehensive database covering journals, books and other important reference sources in the humanities and provides cover-to-cover indexing and abstracting for over 1,700 journals and contains more than 1.5 million records. Humanities International Index includes deep backfiles for some of the most important journals in the area of humanities. The database includes all data from American Humanities Index plus bibliographic records from a multitude of international journals, books and reference works. This database provides citations and abstracts for articles, essays and reviews, as well as original creative works including poems, fiction, photographs, paintings and illustrations.
- MLA Bibliography. New York: Modern Language Assn., 1926 -
- A bibliography covering languages, literatures, folklore, film and linguistics worldwide, gathered from nearly 7,000 sources worldwide, including journal articles, books, and articles in books. Does not index book reviews.
- Royal Historical Society bibliography (Online) Oxford University Press.
- Database contains 300,000 records on British and Irish history, including relations with the empire and Commonwealth. Bibliography includes books, articles in journals and collective volumes, and review articles, incorporating the content of the print annual bibliographies for 1993-2000; with updates to follow. The on-line edition also includes some earlier publications, with near-comprehensive coverage of works published since 1900 and select earlier works.
Reference Sources
- Encyclopedia of Romanticism : culture in Britain, 1780s-1830s. Laura Dabundo, editor; New York : Garland Pub., 1992. Olin Library Reference DA529 .E53x 1992+
- Alphabetically arranged survey of the social, cultural, and intellectual climate of English Romanticism, including socioeconomic and scientific aspects of the era in addition to the literary, philosophical and artistic. Entries include brief bibliographies.
- Encyclopedia of the Victorian Era. James Eli Adams, editor; Danbury, CT: Grolier, 2004. 4 vols. Olin Library Reference DA550 E527 2004+
- Covers the social, political and intellectual landscape of the British-dominated world during the years of the rein of Queen Victoria, 1837-1901. Contains 627 signed, subject-based essays, maps, selected primary sources and other material.
- Literature Resource Center (LRC).
- "LRC is a complete literature reference database designed for the undergraduate student. LRC combines biographical, bibliographical, and contextual information to deliver a complete reference/resource package on authors and their works (fiction, nonfiction, poetry, drama, history, and journalism). Centering on respected Gale sources, including Contemporary Authors, Dictionary of Literary Biography, and Contemporary Literary Criticism, this data set is augmented with full-text, excerpted, and commissioned critical material illuminating an oeuvre or era.
- Oxford English Dictionary.
- The OED presents in alphabetical series the words that have formed the English vocabulary from the time of the earliest records down to the present day, with all the relevant facts concerning their form, sense-history, pronunciation, and etymology. It embraces not only the standard language of literature and conversation, but also the main technical vocabulary, and a large measure of dialectical usage and slang. This edition contains the complete A to Z sequence of the Second Edition, its three-volume Additions Series, and also draft material from the revision programme, which represents the latest progress towards the Third Edition. Second edition available in print at Olin and Uris Reference PE1625 M98 1989
- British Literary Magazines. Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press, 1983-1986. 4 vols. Olin Library Reference PN 5124 L6 B86
- Profiles the history and influence of specific literary magazines Includes bibliographies and indexes. Note in particular volumes 2 (The romantic age, 1789-1836) and 3 (The Victorian and Edwardian Age, 1837-1913)
Subject Guide |
Contact Info:
106 Olin Library
Cornell University
(607) 255-6662
Send Email
Subjects:
English-language literature, theater, film
106 Olin Library
Cornell University
(607) 255-6662
Send Email
Subjects:
English-language literature, theater, film
Description
Loading content... please wait




Loading content... please wait