Admin Sign In 

ENGL 1158.105: Love and Hate in the Fiction of Toni Morrison (Spring 2009)  Tags: american_literature linguistics_language_literature writing  

A library guide to research strategies, information resources, and library services for finding out more about Cornellian, Toni Morrison.
Last update: Apr 21st, 2009 URL: http://guides.library.cornell.edu/engl1158jc  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Home             Print Page
  
 

The Fiction of Toni Morrison

In this course you will be reading and writing about several of Toni Morrison's novels.

Several of your writing assignments will require you to do some literary research and to find information sources outside of your course materials.

This library guide provides you with a selection of recommended information resources, research strategies, and library services to assist you with these assignments.

 

 

Ask your questions.

 

 

 

 

Final Assignment

Final Project Assignment for

English 1158: The Fiction of Toni Morrison

 

Due: May 1st, 2009 (last day of class – polished and uploaded to wiki)

 

For this project, you will work with a partner or in a group of three to develop a “resources” web page for the books that we have studied this semester: A Mercy, Beloved, Song of Solomon, and Love.

 

Guidelines:

  • Group 1 (two people) to work on a basic information page (biography, good websites, interviews (video/podcast, print) with the author, and so on)

 

  • Group 2 (two people) to work on a resources page for A Mercy (includes a brief summary of the book, websites that end in .edu [where possible], podcasts [author reading from book], video interviews that concern this book specifically, recent scholarly bibliography (books and/or articles), five book reviews)

 

  • Group 3 to work on a resources page for Beloved (includes a brief summary of the book, websites that end in .edu, podcasts [author reading from book], video interviews that concern this book specifically, recent scholarly bibliography (books and/or articles), five book reviews)

 

  • Group 4 to work on a resources page for Song of Solomon (includes a brief summary of the book, websites that end in .edu, podcasts [author reading from book], video interviews that concern this book specifically, recent scholarly bibliography (books and/or articles), five book reviews)

 

  • Group 5 (two people) to work on a resources page for Love (includes a brief summary of the book, websites that end in .edu, podcasts [author reading from book], video interviews that concern this book specifically, recent scholarly bibliography (books and/or articles), five book reviews)

 

We will have a “refresher” library session on April 20th during class time. Please meet at the Uris Library electronic classroom (below the circ desk) before 1:25 so that we may start on time. After the “refresher” you will be able to begin work on your project. You will also have ample time (in class) to work on this project. 

 

Evaluation:

  • Evaluation (grade) will be based on the writing of the summary; the adequacy of the websites you locate; the scholarly value and variety of sources you find for the bibliography and the book reviews; and any other resources that appear to be useful to anyone looking for resources on Toni Morrison.

 

  • Even though you are working in groups (or with a partner) and will receive a “group” grade, I expect all of you to document both your specific part in developing your page and the group’s overall process of creating the page. (This may be just a page or less, single-spaced.)
 

Research Assignment

The assignment:


Now that you've been acquainted or re-acquainted with the library resources, I'd like you to put that knowledge to work. Please bring a short annotated bibliography that lists:
o       One review of
Mercy.
o       One article (or interview) that is NOT about the novel but is about (or features Toni Morrsion, which you think might be interesting and relevant to the book.
o       One article that deals with a thematic concern, like racism and/or slavery, in the novel/s of Toni Morrison


The rules:

These articles should be scholarly, interesting to you, and something that might inspire or inform your essay. At least ONE of the three articles must be shelved (meaning they aren't available as full-text documents through JStor, Project Muse, Literature Resource Center, or other similar databases, and were retrieved through the Gateway.) You are, however, welcome to use online resources (such as MLA or LRC) to locate them.

Your annotated bibliography should include:
o       Full citations for each article
o       A 4-5 sentence synopsis of what the article seems to be about, under the citation.  (This is the "annotation" part.)
o       A brief response considering:
o       the greatest strength of this article
o       its weakness, if any
o       one new original idea about A Mercy (or about the author) inspired by the article

Please bring me a hard copy and post your annotated bibliography to the discussion page for A Mercy. You do not need to bring me copies of the articles, but keep them for now.

 

Course Web Sites

Library Guide:  http://guides.library.cornell.edu/engl1158jc

Confluence: https://confluence.cornell.edu/display/english158/English+1158--Toni+Morrison

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait