Skip to main content

Current Topics: Selected Information Sources: Today's
News

Help finding quick, reliable, current information including news digests that synthesize content from disparate sources. Click on the TABS to access each section of this guide.

Today's News

The following online news sources provide access to current news articles.

Access World News:
Database. Over 4,700 newspapers and newswires, including some web-only titles. Also video from local television news programs. Some international coverage, but mainly Anglo-American titles (about 75% North American titles, 25% international). Includes many smaller newspapers in the U.S. Mainly in English; some Spanish (see Acceda Noticias).

Factiva:
Database. The Newsstand section on the default home page of Factiva shows the last two weeks of the following news sources—every article, plain text (no graphics)—The New York Times, Wall Street Journal (U.S. edition, Europe edition, and Asia edition), Washington Post, Investor’s Business Daily, and the BBC.

Financial Times/FT.com:
The Library provides free online access. Go to this catalog record--Financial Times--and follow the link to set up your free account. All faculty, students, and staff have access.The default edition is the “International Edition.” You can switch to the UK Edition on the ft.com homepage.

Library Press Display aka PressReader.com:
Database. Full-color, full-text online versions of some major print newspaper titles, over 700 titles from 55 countries. Use the Publications by Country menu at left to choose USA, France, etc. More reliable sources are displayed first. Use discretion in picking from these news sources; many popular magazines and non-news sources are now included. The last 90 days is available with some exceptions (Chicago Tribune, last 4 days available, for example).

New York Times/nytimes.com:
The Student Assembly has purchased access for all Cornell undergraduates only. Login instructions are here as a PDF: New York Times -- digital access for undergraduates. Other users are limited to 10 articles per month without a personal digital subscription. Current and recent articles (last 2 weeks) in plain text format from the New York Times are available on Factiva’s Newsstand page.

Nexis Uni.
Database. Over 18,000 sources including newspapers, journals, wire services, newsletters, company reports and SEC filings, case law, government documents, transcripts of broadcasts, and selected reference works. Formerly LexisNexis Academic.

Wall Street Journal/wsj.com:
To access the Wall Street Journal online, go to https://partner.wsj.com/partner/cornelluniversity and register. Select your account type from the dropdown menu, add a password, and agree to the Privacy Policy. Then Create and you have access. All faculty, students, and staff at Cornell.

Washington Post/washingtonpost.com:
As of February 1, 2018, unlimited access to washingtonpost.com for people with .edu, .mil, or .gov email addresses ended.. Free access is now limited to 20 articles per month for nonsubscribers. Alternatives: Online access to color PDFs of the print Washington Post for the last 90 days (except Sunday): Library Press Display. Articles from the last 2 weeks in plain text format: Factiva’s Newsstand page.

World Politics Review:
Continuously updated. Articles provide analysis of trends and events in international affairs. Published entirely online, WPR's original articles are written by a network of analysts, journalists, and scholars. Articles cover diplomacy, military affairs, energy, economics and related subjects.

 

Regional News Services

Euro|topics.
A European press review with English, German, and French summaries for 28 European countries. Text is the translated lead paragraph of the article. Some entries link to the full text online in original language and some only to the source news site.

MideastWire.com.
A daily selection of articles from news sources (print, radio and television media) and newsletters appearing in 22 Arab countries, Iran and the Arab Diaspora. English translations from Arabic and Farsi. Added links to current source home page when available.

Web Accessibility Assistance