More Hospitality Industry Guides
Trends and Statistics
Use these databases, books, and websites to learn more about trends and statistics in the cruise line industry, including market research.
- Cruise Industry News2013. Cruise Industry News is an international guide to the cruise industry, subtitled "The State of the Cruise Industry." The publication includes rankings of the largest companies by region, company overviews, lists of shipyards, contractors, equipment, management companies, ship suppliers, food & beverage companies, ports, agents, excursions, and more. This annual publication is available in print in the ILR Library bReference HE566 E9 C92.
- Travel and Tourism Market Research Handbook: Cruises2013. The article presents trends in cruise lines in the U.S. Cruise is considered as one of the fastest-growing sectors of the travel industry with 8% annual passenger growth since 1980. It provides a projection of the total cruise ship capacity based on ships that are being constructed. Lists of cruise lines, new ships, and travel destinations are also provided.
- Mintel AcademicMarket research reports for products, markets and demographics. Users are required to set up a personal profile with a log in and password. Analysis includes market sizes and forecasts, market trends, market segmentation, competitive context, broken down segment performances, retail channels, consumer demographics and survey results, leading companies, brand share, marketing strategies, and more. Covers European (with an emphasis on UK) and US markets. Relevant reports include Cruises International, Cruises US, European River Cruises, and Seasonal Vacation Trends.
- Cruise Lines International AssociationThe main trade association for the cruise line industry offers a research page with lots of free statistical information about the industry.
Plunkett's Airline, Hotel & Travel Industry Almanac by
Call Number: Nestle Library HE9803.A2 P58 See Librarians for AccessPublication Date: 2014Latest verison is available in Nestle Library (Statler Hall) and previous editions are available at Catherwood Library (ILR SCHOOL). Provides a directory of travel companies, including airlines. Reports growth plans, brief financial overviews, salaries, and contact information for top executives, and summaries each company’s competitive advantage. Includes U.S. aviation industry statistical tables
Cruise Ship Tourism by Call Number: ILR Library G550 .C8327 2006Publication Date: 2006This book explores the theory, issues, impacts and management considerations surrounding the growing industry of cruise tourism. It begins by giving an overview of the cruise industry, followed by chapters focusing on the increasing demand for cruising. It presents case-studies of specific countries, including the Antarctic, Caribbean and Alaska before reviewing the economic, social and environmental impacts of cruise tourism.Cruise Tourism: Current Situation and Trends by
Call Number: ILR Library G550 .T8713 2010Publication Date: 2010This study was prepared by marine engineer Dr. Manuel Butler as part of a consultancy under the supervision and with the contribution of the UNWTO Tourism Trends and Marketing Strategies Programme and the Regional Programme for the Americas.
