BibliographiesBiographical SourcesDirectoriesLiterary Terms and ConceptsSelected Web SitesSpecialized Encyclopedias & DictionariesTheater Terminolgy
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

THEATER: A Guide to Resources  Tags: theater theatre drama performing_arts  

This bibliography is selective and includes titles held by the Reference collections of Olin and Uris Libraries, as well as reference materials accessible online. Some titles listed may also be available in the general stacks.
Last update: Nov 12th, 2009 URL: http://guides.library.cornell.edu/theater  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Theater Terminolgy             Print Page
  
 

Theater Terminology

Dictionary of the Theatre: Terms, Concepts, and Analysis, Patrice Pavis; translated by Christine Shantz. Toronto; Buffalo: University of Toronto Press, c1998. Olin Ref PN2035 P29 1998+
While covering much of the basic historical and literary terminology of the discipline, this dictionary emphasizes the "specialized theoretical vocabulary that is now regularly employed in theoretical writing about the theatre." (foreword)

 

Glossary of Technical Theatre Terms
Online dictionary from the University of Exeter. Provides information on nearly 1500 technical terms in 17 theatre categories (e.g, lighting, stage management, sound, costume, administration).

 

An International Dictionary of Theatre Language. Westport: Greenwood, 1985. Olin Ref PN2035 I61
15,000 terms described spanning theater history from ancient times to the present day. Extensive bibliography and numerous cross references make this a valuable research tool.

 

NTC's Dictionary of Theatre and Drama Terms. Lincolnwood, IL: National Textbook Co., c1992. Olin Ref PN 2035 M63x 1992

 

Theatre. A Book of Words.Martin Harrison. Manchester: Carcanet, 1993. Olin Ref PN2035 H32
Defines approximately 1200 contemporary and historical theatrical terms. Bibliography included.

 

Theatre Backstage from A to Z, Warren C. Lounsbury, Norman C. Boulanger. Seattle: University of Washington Press, c1999. 4th ed. Olin Ref PN2091 M3 L68x 1999
An encyclopedia of all the technical aspects of stagecraft for both beginners and old hands. Considers construction, design, lighting, painting, properties, sounds, stage managing and other areas down to such details as tying a knot and constructing a flat. Includes over 300 illustrations.
 
 
Description

  Loading content... please wait