BibliographiesBiographical SourcesDirectoriesLiterary Terms and ConceptsSelected Web SitesSpecialized Encyclopedias & DictionariesTheater Terminolgy
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

THEATER: A Guide to Resources  Tags: theater theatre drama performing_arts  

This bibliography is selective and includes titles held by the Reference collections of Olin and Uris Libraries, as well as reference materials accessible online. Some titles listed may also be available in the general stacks.
Last update: Nov 12th, 2009 URL: http://guides.library.cornell.edu/theater  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Bibliographies             Print Page
  
 

Bibliographies

American Dissertations on the Drama and the Theatre; a Bibliography
[by] Fredric M. Litto. Kent, Ohio: Kent State University Press, [1969] Olin Ref Z5781 L78 +
Contains keyword and subject indexes to U.S. theater dissertations up to 1969. Use the Dissertation Abstracts database for more recent information.

 

American Drama Criticism: Interpretations, 1890-1977 (plus Supplements to 1992). Hamden, Conn.: Shoe String Press, 1979-[1992]. Olin Ref Z5781 P17 1979; also Uris Ref
Arranged alphabetically by playwright and sub-categorized by the title of the work, these volumes list journal articles and reviews that appear in academic journals, general magazines, and theater publications. No abstracts, but a good way to get a list of relevant citations quickly.

 

Bibliography of Medieval Drama, [by] Carl. J. Stratman. New York: F. Ungar [1972] 2d ed., rev. and enl. 2 vols. Olin Ref Z5782 A2 S89 1972; another set in stacks
Lists scholarly materials -- largely book and articles -- in the following subject areas: liturgical latin drama, English drama, Byzantine drama, French drama, German drama, Italian drama, Low Countries drama, and Spanish drama. Indexed.

 

Stratman, Carl Joseph, Britain's Theatrical Periodicals, 1720-1967, a Bibliography. New York: New York Public Library, 1972. Olin Ref Z5783 S89 1972+
Provides bibliographic data for periodicals focusing on the theater in Britain.

 

European Drama Criticism, 1900-1975. 2nd ed. Hamden: Shoe String, 1977. Uris Ref Z 5781 P17 1977; also Olin Ref Z 5781 P17 E9 1977
A comprehensive listing of criticism which has appeared in books and periodicals in English and foreign languages, from 1900 to 1975. Arrangement is alphabetical by playwright, with plays alphabetized under the playwright. Cross references are included.

 

International Bibliography of Theatre. New York: Publishing Denter for Cultural Resources, CUNY, 1982-1999. Olin Stacks +Z5783 I61
A comprehensive annual bibliography covering theatre on an international basis. There is some delay in getting annual volumes out, but an extensive subject index makes up for the lack of currency.

 

Carpenter, Charles A. Modern Drama Scholarship and Criticism, 1966-1980: an International Bibliography. Toronto: University of Toronto Press, 1986. Olin Ref Z5781 C29
"A classified, selective list of publications on world drama since Ibsen. the volume is intended mainly for students of modern dramatic literature. Play and playwright, rather than performance and performer, hold center stage." (Preface)

 

________________. Modern Drama Scholarship and Criticism, 1981-1990: an International Bibliography. Toronto: University of Toronto Press, . Olin Ref Z5781 C291 1997
Updates and continues the previous volume, with additions and corrections to it. Emphasizes contemporary theory and performance theory more than its predecessor.

 

World Shakespeare Bibliography.
Published for the Folger Shakespeare Library by The Johns Hopkins University Press, [1999?]- Electronic coverage as of June 3, 2003: 1968-2003. When complete, it will provide annotated entries for all important books, articles, book reviews, dissertations, theatrical productions, reviews of productions, audiovisual materials, electronic media, and other scholarly and popular materials related to Shakespeare and published or produced since 1900.

 

 
 
Description

  Loading content... please wait