BibliographiesBiographical SourcesDirectoriesLiterary Terms and ConceptsSelected Web SitesSpecialized Encyclopedias & DictionariesTheater Terminolgy
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

THEATER: A Guide to Resources  Tags: theater theatre drama performing_arts  

This bibliography is selective and includes titles held by the Reference collections of Olin and Uris Libraries, as well as reference materials accessible online. Some titles listed may also be available in the general stacks.
Last update: Nov 12th, 2009 URL: http://guides.library.cornell.edu/theater  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Periodical Indexes & Databases             Print Page
  
 

Periodical Indexes and Databases

Given the multidisciplinary perspectives from which literature can be approached, the following list represents only those resources centered for the most part on literary study. Others, such as Philosophers Index, Historical Abstracts, Women's Studies International or PsycINFO may be just as relevant depending on the specific subject. Searching the Library Catalog and Find It! Databases will indentify or provide access to far more of these resources than can be listed here.

 

Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature. 1920- (ABELL)
ABELL contains over 814,000 records covering monographs, periodical articles, critical editions of literary works, book reviews, collections of essays and doctoral dissertations published anywhere in the world from 1920 onwards. All aspects and periods of English literature are covered, from Anglo-Saxon times to the present day. British, American and Commonwealth writing are all represented. Coverage is international, including material in languages other than English.

 

Abstracts of English Studies. 1958 - 1991. Boulder, CO: National Council of Teachers of English. Olin Z 2011 A16
No longer published, but for 1958 - 91 covers about 750 journals for articles in English-language literature of all periods. Includes summaries. Issued quarterly; indexed quarterly and annually.

 

Arts & Humanities Citation Index (A&HCI)
ISI citation databases -- under the collective name Web of Science -- are multidisciplinary databases of bibliographic information indexed to be searched by subject, author, journal, and/or author address. They can also be searched for articles that cite a known author or work. Cited reference searching allows use of a given work as if it were a subject term, to identify more recent articles on the same topic. search by footnoted source (1975 - date)

 

British Humanities Index. London: The Library Association, 1962- . Olin Ref AI 3 S94++
An index to about 375 British periodicals in the social sciences and humanities. Among the disciplines covered are literature, classics, political science, economics and history. Issued 4 times/year. Quarterly issues contain subject listings only; annual cumulations have author and subject.

 

Comprehensive Index to English-language Little Magazines, 1890-1970, Series One edited by Marion Sader. Millwood, NY: Kraus Thomson, 1976. 8 vols. Olin Reference AI3 S12+
Indexes articles, creative works, letters and reviews published in 100 small literary magazines published between 1890 - 1970, roughly half of them American. Arrangement is alphapbetical by author or subject.

 

Dramatic index for 1909-1949. (Bound with Annual Magazine Subject Index.) Boston Book Co., 1909-1952. Olin Ref AI3 M18
Beginning with 1909, each volume is in two parts, each part having separate title page and pagination: pt. I, Annual magazine subject-index: pt. II, The Dramatic index. The Dramatic Index serves as an index to books, journal articles, illustrations, play texts and reviews. Covers general and specialized English-language periodicals. Articles are entered under subject only, with reviews of plays found under the title of the play. An important but often overlooked resource.

 

English Short Title Catalogue (ESTC)
Describes English or English-language letterpress materials published before 1801. Contains records for items of all types published in Great Britain or its colonies or in English from 1473 to 1800. Contains records for works printed in any language in England or its dependencies from the beginning of printing through the end of the eighteenth century, as well as works printed in English anywhere else in the world during that period. Includes the former Eighteenth-Century Short-Title Catalogue (ESTC) and the two print short-title catalogues covering 1475-1640 (Pollard & Redgrave) and 1641-1700 (Wing)

Humanities Index. New York: Wilson Co., 1974- . Uris Ref AI 3 H91+; a1so Olin
An author and subject index to over 250 English language scholarly journals. "Subject fields indexed include archaeology and classical studies, area studies, folklore, history, language and litera ture...philosophy, religion, and theology." Also includes an author index to book reviews which have appeared in the journals indexed. Continues Social Sciences and Humanities Index and the International Index.

Humanities International Index
A comprehensive database covering journals, books and other important reference sources in the humanities and provides cover-to-cover indexing and abstracting for over 1,700 journals and contains more than 1.5 million records. Humanities International Index includes deep backfiles for some of the most important journals in the area of humanities. The database includes all data from American Humanities Index plus bibliographic records from a multitude of international journals, books and reference works. This database provides citations and abstracts for articles, essays and reviews, as well as original creative works including poems, fiction, photographs, paintings and illustrations.

Index to Commonwealth Little Magazines, 1964-. Olin Ref AI 3 I368
Contains author and subject indexes to "little" magazines, mostly literary periodicals, published in Great Britain, Commonwealth, and ex-Commonwealth countries.

 

International Index to the Performing Arts (IIPA)
IIPA Full Text covers a broad spectrum of the arts and entertainment industry--including dance, film, television, drama, theater, stagecraft, musical theater, broadcast arts, circus performance, comedy, storytelling, opera, pantomime, puppetry, magic and more. Full text from 1999 onward.

 

International Medieval Bibliography Online.
Indexes articles, notes, and similar literature on medieval subjects in journals, Festschriften, conference proceedings, and collected essays. Covers all aspects of medieval studies within the date range of 400 to 1500 for the entire continent of Europe, the Middle East and North Africa for the period before the Muslim conquest and parts of those areas subsequently controlled by Christian powers. Includes more than 300,000 articles published 1967- , all of which are fully classified by date, subject and location.


JSTOR
JSTOR is a fully-searchable database containing the back issues of several hundred scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, mathematics, music, ecology and botany, business and other fields. It includes the following collections: Arts & sciences I, II and III, General science, Ecology and botany, Business, Language and literature.


MLA Bibliography New York: Modern Language Assn., 1921- . in print: Olin Z 7006 M68+
The premier scholarly bibliography covering languages, literatures, folklore, film and linguistics from all over the world. Online coverage back to 1926.

 

19th Century Masterfile: a paratext resource
19th century masterfile/Poole's is a reference service for scholars, bibliographers, and students of the Nineteenth Century. It is a scholarly tool for mining the riches of this extraordinary period. Access is by annual subscription. It is a great deal more than an enhanced Web edition of William Frederick Poole's Index to Periodical Literature. It is a continually expanding resource for the study of Nineteenth-Century cultural and intellectual life.

 

Periodicals Index Online(formerly, PCI)
Electronic index to thousands of periodicals in the humanities and social sciences, covering each periodical from its first issue. Every article is indexed. The scope is international, including journals in English, French, German, Italian, Spanish and other languages. Coverage currently extends from 1665 through 1995.

 

Play Index [Bronx, N.Y.: H.W. Wilson Co.]
Index to more than 30,000 plays written from Antiquity to the present and published from 1949 to the present; includes mysteries, pageants, plays in verse, puppet performances, radio and television plays, and classic drama. All Play master records contain a link to the results of an Internet metasearch of specially selected Web sites to link to full text, criticism, and other useful information.
 
 
Description

  Loading content... please wait