BibliographiesBiographical SourcesDirectoriesLiterary Terms and ConceptsSelected Web SitesSpecialized Encyclopedias & DictionariesTheater Terminolgy
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

THEATER: A Guide to Resources  Tags: theater theatre drama performing_arts  

This bibliography is selective and includes titles held by the Reference collections of Olin and Uris Libraries, as well as reference materials accessible online. Some titles listed may also be available in the general stacks.
Last update: Nov 12th, 2009 URL: http://guides.library.cornell.edu/theater  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Home               Print Page
  
 

Where to start

Looking for Scholarly Articles? Try the MLA Bibliography

Need a pre-1700 English text? Search Early English Books Online

Not sure what "Grand-Guignol" refers to? Check the Oxford Encyclopedia of Theatre and Performance

Need to locate a play published in an anthology? The Play Index can help.

Can't figure out the origin of the word "bodkin?" Look it up in the Oxford English Dictionary

Need to compare two variant texts of Hamlet? See Editions & Adaptations of Shakespeare

Want basic biographical information on a playwright? Use the Literature Resource Center

Trying to find set designs from productions at the Meyerhold Theatre?  GloPAD has them.

 
 

A Guide to Theater Resources

Iphigenia in Tauris
Model by Lee Simonson for Act II of Gluck's
Iphigenia in Tauris
from Theatre Arts Magazine, December 1917.


This bibliography is selective and includes titles held by the Reference collections of Olin and Uris Libraries, as well as reference materials accessible online. Some titles listed may also be available in the general stacks. Please note that the Music Library holds many resources related to musical theatre (e.g., The Encyclopedia of the Musical Theatre, The American Musical Theatre Song Encyclopedia) that are not listed here. The Rare & Manuscript Collections in the Kroch Library holds many theater-related items as well, including the Bernard F. Burgunder Collection on George Bernard Shaw. Most material on Asian theater is housed in the Kroch Library Asia collections.

 

Resources in the Spotlight

Teatro Campesino Online Collection
From the California Ethnic and Multicultural Archives (CEMA) at University of California, Santa Barbara. This collection of 118 videos contains El Teatro Campesino plays, television specials, concerts, interviews, news footage, commercials, and workshops. The series includes the first known film that has a segment about the Teatro, "Huelga," narrated by Cesar Chavez. Other films range from the early actos to television specials on the movie "Zoot Suit." There are films of scenes from plays and whole plays, interviews with Luis Valdez and others, footage of the twentieth anniversary gala of El Teatro Campesino, and a documentary on the history of the Teatro made in 1981. Finding aid available online.

Theatre in Video
Contains performances of the world’s leading plays and film documentaries on the subject of theater in streaming video. Some plays presented in multiple productions exemplifying various interpretations of the text, and technical and cultural differences among the presentations. Stage work of directors and actors are cross-searchable and available for side-by-side comparison. Interviews with directors, designers, writers, and actors, along with excerpts of live performances, provide illustration of the development of texts and the productions.


Play Index [Bronx, N.Y.: H.W. Wilson Co.]
Index to more than 30,000 plays written from Antiquity to the present and published from 1949 to the present; includes mysteries, pageants, plays in verse, puppet performances, radio and television plays, and classic drama. All Play master records contain a link to the results of an Internet metasearch of specially selected Web sites to link to full text, criticism, and other useful information.


IBDB (Internet Broadway Database)
The official database for Broadway theatre information. IBDB provides records of productions from the beginnings of New York theatre until today. Details include pertinent people involved as well as interesting facts and production statistics. Get a list of every production of Hamlet on Broadway or a list of your favorite actor's credits. Find out what played at a particular theatre or what shows opened in a specified Broadway season.
 

Subject Librarian

Profile ImageFred Muratori
Contact Info:
106 Olin Library
Cornell University
(607) 255-6662
Send Email

Subjects:
English-language literature, theater, film

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait