Reference BooksReference Databases
Specialized Subject Databases
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

ENGL 1127: Shakespeare  Tags: shakespeare english_literature theater linguistics_language_literature  

A library guide to selected information resources on Shakespeare.
Last update: Jan 19th, 2009 URL: http://guides.library.cornell.edu/engl1127  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Reference Books             Print Page
  
 

Recommended Background Resources

Bartlett, John, 1820-1905. A Complete Concordance or Verbal Index to Works, Phrases and Passages in the Dramatic Works of Shakespeare, with a supplementary concordance to the poems. New York, St. Martin's Press, 1960.

Uris Library Reference PR2892 .B28 1960


Boyce, Charles. Shakespeare A to Z: The Essential Reference to His Plays, His Poems, His Life and Times, and More. New York: Facts on File, 1990.

Uris Library Reference PR2892 B78
A useful handbook including nearly 3,000 entries on all facets of Shakespeare's life. For each play there is an act-by-act, scene-by-scene synopsis, a commentary, and the theatrical history of the play. There are also entries for individual characters both historical and fictional, major character types, major Shakespeare scholars and performers, and the people who influenced Shakespeare. A suggested reading section and an appendix list entries by broad categories.


Champion, Larry S. The Essential Shakespeare: An Annotated Bibliography of Major Modern Studies. 2nd ed. New York: G.K. Hall, 1993.

Uris Library Reference PR2894 .C45 1993; Olin Library Z8811 .C45 1993
Lists more than 1,800 predominantly English-language studies in an attempt to identify "the most significant items of Shakespeare scholarship from 1900 to 1991." (Pref.) An earlier edition was published in 1986.


Dobson, Michael, gen. ed., and Stanley Wells, associate general editor. The Oxford Companion to Shakespeare Oxford: Oxford UP, 2001.

Oxford Companion to Shakespeare
Olin Library Reference PR2892 .O94 2001+ and Uris Library Reference
Also available online as part of the Oxford Reference Online Premium.
"Comprising more than 3000 entries, it covers topics such as Shakespeare's biography, legend, works, literary features and terms, individuals (both real and fictional), and a host of topics such as Elizabethan and Jacobean literature and theater, which help put in context both the times and the works. Of particular note are the entries on each play, which include scene-by-scene explanations as well as examinations of the play's particular artistic features, critical history, and stage and screen history, and a listing of recent editions and selected criticism." (Library Journal)

 

Olsen, Kirstin. All Things Shakespeare: An Encyclopedia of Shakespeare's World. 2 v. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 2002.

Uris Library Reference PR2892 .O56x 2002
This encyclopedia describes Shakespeare's physical environment, including subjects such as "coins, clothing, food, drink, animals, occupations, architectural methods, symbolism, agriculture, and rites of passage of the Renaissance." (Introduction) The 200-plus entries include references to the plays, acts, and scenes in which Shakespeare mentions the item or activity being discussed.


 

Ask Me Your Question

Profile ImageLance J. Heidig


facebook


twitter


VIVO




Contact Info:
104a Uris Library
Ithaca, NY 14853-5301
Phone: (607) 255-2954
Email: ljh5@cornell.edu
Send Email

Subjects:
Reference, Instruction, Collection Development, Cornell New Student Reading Project, Book Collection Contest

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait