This is the "Background Resources" page of the "ENGL 1134.107 Memoir and Memory (Fall 2009)" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Admin Sign In 

ENGL 1134.107 Memoir and Memory (Fall 2009)  Tags: linguistics_language_literature memoir memory  

A guide to research strategies, information resources, and library services.
Last update: Sep 30th, 2009 URL: http://guides.library.cornell.edu/engl1134ar  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Background Resources             Print Page
  
 

Research Tips

Use Reference databases to identify and access encyclopedias and other sources to find background information on your research topics.

In the Library Catalog combine keywords like "encyclopedia" or "dictionary" or "handbook" or "guidebook" or "introduction" with other keywords related to your topic.

Look for bibliographies and cross-references at the end of encyclopedia articles.

Use words and phrases that you find in your encyclopedias as keywords in new searches in the Library Catalog, Google, or other subject databases.

 

Online Dictionaries

Use Google for quick checks on spelling and definitions.

(e.g. define sestina or def sestina)

For more detailed analysis, use the Oxford English Dictionary (OED).

 
 

To Wiki or Not to Wiki?

You have all used Wikipedia.  It can be a good starting place for your research, but dare to explore further....

There are thousands of both general and specialized subject encyclopedias--digital and print. 

If you need information on a topic that you are not familiar with, try starting with an encyclopedia article to learn essential facts, figures, and background on your subject.

 

Use Background Resources to get started.

Use these Reference databases to find and access articles in a variety of encyclopedias and subject dictionaries:

Gale Virtual Reference Library

A database of full text reference encylopedias and dictionaries for the Arts, Business, History, Law, Medicine, Religion, and Social Sciences.

Oxford Reference Online

This databases contains over 100 language and subject dictionaries and reference works of Oxford University Press. Covers general reference, language, science and medicine, humanities and social sciences, business and professional subjects.

 

Reference Universe


A searchable database of back-of-the-book indexes to subject encyclopedias and other reference works in a wide variety of subject areas. Search the contents of more than 4,500 reference titles.

 

A database of 47 reference books published by SAGE covering the social sciences and education, including such areas as African American studies, aged & gerontology, anthropology, communication and media studies, criminology and criminal justice, economics, education, gender & sexuality studies, history, politics, psychology, social issues, social work & social policy, and sociology.

 

Subject Encyclopedias

Try both general and specialized subject encyclopedias about your topics.

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait