Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

Dance Resources in the Sidney Cox Library 

This was originally prepared for Dance 418, taught by Prof. Joyce Morgenroth; many thanks for her input and getting this project rolling. I will try to update it periodically so that it can be used as an evolving resource for basic dance research.
Last update: Mar 10th, 2008 URL: http://guides.library.cornell.edu/danceresearch  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Home             Print Page
  
 

Contacts in the Music Library

  • Lenora Schneller and the Reference/Circulation Staff (general reference, information and circulation policy questions): musicref@cornell.edu, 255-4011
  • Jim Alberts (Asst. Music Librarian, Audio-Visual Materials and other requests): ja253@cornell.edu, 255-6160
  • Bonna Boettcher, Music Librarian (bjb57, problem reference questions, materials requests).
 

Dance Resources on the Web


The Music Library WWW site (www.library.cornell.edu/music, and especially the page with music and dance links (http://www.library.cornell.edu/music/links.html#dr) N.b: this site is somewhat out of date and if you know of sites that are of vital interest to dance studies now and are not listed on the page, please let me know and I’ll add them.

 
 

Getting Started on Research: Dictionaries and Encyclopedias

Music Reference GV1785.A1 C67
Biographical Dictionary of Dance
. Includes articles on dancers and choreographers, current to 1981. Includes lists of works danced and choreographed but no bibliographies.


Music Reference GV1585 .B46x 1998

International Dictionary of Modern Dance
. Primarily entries on individuals (dancers, choreographers, and others) with some articles on dance genres (Butoh, etc.). Entries for choreographers include lists of works; most articles include bibliographies (which tend to be quite brief).


Music Reference GV1585 .I62 1998

International Encyclopedia of
Dance. Covers individual dancers and choreographers, choreographed works, types of dance, and other dance-related subjects. Includes brief but decent bibliographies.


(Note: ballet resources will be added.)

 

Books on Dance and Dancers

GV1600-GV1785

GV1600- covers books and anthologies of dance criticism, dance theory, world and religious dance genres, and other aspects of dance. GV1785 covers collective biography and (alphabetically) biographies and autobiographies of individual dancers and choreographers.

 

Research in the Journal Literature


http://resolver.library.cornell.edu/misc/3966924
International Index to the Performing Arts (IIPA) Online
. Searchable by name, choreographed work, or other terms in a Google-type interface. Covers the dance literature and newspaper articles; articles are ranked by relevance. Most (if not all) citations link directly to full text.


http://catnyp.nypl.org/search~b1o1c1i1p1r1a1

New York
Public Library Jerome Robbins Dance Collection. Includes references to journal articles, chapters of books, reviews, and resources on a wide range of dance topics from both the specialized dance literature and the popular press. Much deeper coverage of the journal (and book) literature than IIPA but slightly confusing to use (and no links to full text).


Webfeat at Cornell (navigate to www.library.cornell.edu and click on “Articles”). Numerous choices of databases or metasearch combinations. It’s easiest to select “music” under “Arts and Humanities” and do the most precise search feasible. Not all the databases respond to searching in the same way, so it’s sometimes best to select a database and search within it for best results.


Music Reference Z7514.D2 A19
Adamczyk, Alice. Black Dance: An Annotated Bibliography. Current to 1989, this includes annotated references to books and journal articles on styles, genres, dancers, choreographers, dance companies and other topics.


Music Reference Z7514.D2 G39 1995
Getz, Leslie. Dancers and Choreographers. Alphabetical by name, this includes articles and books; coverage is somewhat uneven.

 

Subject Guide

Profile ImageJim Alberts
Contact Info:
Jim Alberts
Library
Lincoln Hall
607-255-6160
Send Email

Subjects:
music, AV materials

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait