Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

EAS1400: Writing in the Sciences, Environmental Perspectives (Fall 2009)  Tags: environment  

A guide to research strategy, print and online reference sources, evaluation, citation, and getting research help.
Last update: Oct 02nd, 2009 URL: http://guides.library.cornell.edu/eas140  Print Guide  RSS Updates

BACKGROUND SOURCES             Print Page
  
 

FINDING BACKGROUND INFORMATION

Use the following reference books to find background and biographical information, further readings, and definitions of terms on environmental topics. For more titles, browse the reference shelves near these call numbers, search Reference Universe or ask the reference staff for suggestions.

AccessScience: Encyclopedia of Science & Technology Online. New York: McGraw-Hill, 2000- .
(Online Resource) [http://resolver.library.cornell.edu/misc/4499147]
Full access to 7,100+ articles, 115,000 dictionary terms, and hundreds of Research Updates in all areas of science and technology updated daily. Also includes over 2,000 biographies of leading scientists, weekly updates of breakthroughs and discoveries in science and technology, a science dictionary, and links to related websites.

 

A Dictionary of Ecology. 3rd edition. Michael Allaby, ed. New York: Oxford University Press, 2004.
(Online Resource) [http://www.oxfordreference.com/views/BOOK_SEARCH.html?book=t14]
Written in a clear, accessible style, it contains over 6,250 entries on all aspects of ecology and related environmental scientific disciplines such as biogeography, genetics, soil science, geomorphology, atmospheric science, and oceanography. Coverage is wide-ranging and includes plant and animal physiology, animal behavior, pollution, conservation, habitat management, evolution, environmental pollution, climatology and meteorology.
More online reference titles about the environment for Oxford Reference Online.

 

Encyclopedia of Global Change: Environmental Change and Human Society. 2 vols. New York: Oxford University Press, 2002.
(Mann Reference GE 149 .E47x 2002)
Interprets global change to mean natural and human-caused changes in the Earth's physical, chemical, and biological systems and resources, and the effects those changes have on human society. Topic coverage ranges from less than one page to several pages, including photographs, tables, and other illustrations

 

Encyclopedia of Global Warming and Climate Change. S. George Philander, ed. Thousand Oaks, CA: Sage, 2008.
(Online Resource) [http://encompass.library.cornell.edu/cgi-bin/checkIP.cgi?access=gateway_standard%26url=http://www.sage-ereference.com/globalwarming/]
The nearly 750 entries cover topics affecting global warming and climate change. The authors of the entries include geographers, political scientists, chemists, anthropologists, medical practitioners, development experts, and sociologists.

 

International Encyclopedia of Environmental Politics. John Barry and E. Gene Frankland, eds. New York: Routledge, 2002.
(Mann Reference GE 170 .I55x 2002)
Identifies and defines key concepts and issues in the field of environmental politics. The Encyclopedia contains more than 500 entries written by an international team of over 160 expert contributors. The entries generally fall within one of the following broad categories: country and regional entries that provide an overview of the history and policies related to its environmental politics; social and ethical issues, such as animal rights and deep ecology; topics of global concern, such as biodiversity and ozone depletion; social movements and special interest groups, such as the anti-roads movement and Greenpeace; profiles of key environmental and political leaders; or coverage of critical, over-arching subjects of concern within the field of environmental politics, such as globalization, energy production and consumption, and genetic engineering. (ARBA online)

 

 

Olin/Uris Reference

Profile ImageMichael Engle
 
Description

  Loading content... please wait