Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

EAS1400: Writing in the Sciences, Environmental Perspectives (Fall 2009)  Tags: environment  

A guide to research strategy, print and online reference sources, evaluation, citation, and getting research help.
Last update: Oct 02nd, 2009 URL: http://guides.library.cornell.edu/eas140  Print Guide  RSS Updates

FINDING ARTICLES & BOOKS             Print Page
  
 

FINDING JOURNAL ARTICLES

Use these online databases to find articles in journals about environmental topics. Then use the Library's Classic Catalog to look up the journal titles and book titles you find by searching these databases. Our Classic Catalog lists both the print and electronic versions of journals (if available).

Academic Search Premier. EBSCO.

A general periodical database that provides citations and abstracts for articles from over 4,100 magazines and scholarly journals and includes full text from over 3,000 titles. You can limit your search to peer-reviewed articles (scholarly journal) articles.

Environmental Issues & Policy Index. EBSCO, 1973- .

Provides researchers with abstracts and indexing for over 1,000 titles covering environmental policy and studies. Updated monthly, with ongoing coverage for over 500 of those titles, the database contains citations for nearly 700,000 articles published since 1973.

PAIS International. [Public Affairs Information Service]. CSA Illumina, 1915- .

Use Advanced Search: environment and policy and [geographic or topic term, i.e., New York or warming]. Indexes articles, papers, and books.

ProQuest Research Library. ProQuest, 1986- .

Indexes and abstracts over 2,000 magazines and scholarly journals covering a wide variety of subjects and academic disciplines. It also includes citations and abstracts to selected newspapers, television and radio programs. You can limit your search to peer-reviewed articles (scholarly journal) articles. Many articles are available full-text. Use the Classic Catalog Basic Search to find other journals by title.

ScienceDirect. Elsevier Science, 1995- .

Massive collection of scientific research articles. Contains the full text of Elsevier Science journals (and two reference books) in the life, physical, medical, technical, and social sciences from 1995 to date. Click on Advanced Search, click on Environmental Science, enter search terms after the "Term(s):" field label.

 

TRACKING ENVIRONMENTAL POLICY

The making of public policy is a complex process. Articles in these three subscription databases provide a window into that process. CQ Weekly and National Journal are nonpartisan publications about public policy. LexisNexis Congressional indexes a variety of publications; use your critical skills to evaluate these titles!

CQ Electronic Library

Choose CQ Weekly, then browse articles by topic, and click Environment. Click on the year you wish to browse. Use the print annual CQ Almanac Plus [Olin Ref JK1 .C66 +, formerly Congressional Quarterly Almanac] to see summaries of environmental legislation in past years.

LexisNexis Congressional

Click on Political News/Hot Topics at left, enter  the phrase environmental policy and add a third word [example: environmental policy and pollution]. Select the date range you want from the Restrict by Date dropdown menu. Click the Search button.

National Journal Group's Policy Central

Choose National Journal, click on advanced search, enter environmental policy and add a third word relevant to your topic [example: environmental policy pollution].

Open CRS Reports for the People

American taxpayers spend over $100 million a year to fund the Congressional Research Service, a "think tank" at the Library of Congress that provides reports to members of Congress on a variety of topics relevant to current political events. Open CRS provides citizens access to CRS Reports already in the public domain.

Think Tank Directory. Topeka, KS: Government Research Service, 2006. (Olin Ref H 96 .T45)

Contact information, statement of purpose, and list of publications for independent nonprofit public policy organizations in the U.S..

 

FINDING BOOKS and More

Find nearly everything owned by the Cornell University Library by searching the Cornell Library's Classic Catalog. This includes books, journals, magazines, newspapers, videotapes, audiotapes, music CDs, CD-ROMs, DVDs, manuscripts, microfilm, microfiche--in short, anything the Library owns.

You can search by author, title, subject heading, call number, or journal title. You can also search by keyword--any combination of words in the author, title, subject, contents, and notes fields. Words are combined using the Boolean operators AND, OR, or NOT. You will have an opportunity to practice this searching in class.

This Web-based catalog also allows you to recall or put a hold on items that are currently checked out by other library users. Clicking on the Requests button allows you to see what you have checked out; you can also renew your books from this page.


Connect to the Cornell Library Classic Catalog


Two things to remember about the Classic Catalog:
1. The online catalog lists the holdings for all the individual Cornell libraries.
2. You cannot find journal articles in the catalog. Only the titles of journals, magazines, and newspapers are listed along with the years and volumes that we own.

See the first box (above) for more information about FINDING ARTICLES.



Connect to Cornell's New Catalog

The new catalog does not yet have all of Cornell's holdings, but it does search other libraries and some periodical articles. For more information, ask a librarian.

 

Understanding Library of Congress Call Numbers

 

WHAT IF WE DON'T OWN IT?

If we don't have a BOOK that you need or if we have the book but it's checked out:

Borrow Direct
Click on the link above, connect to Borrow Direct, search for the book and if it's available from another Ivy League university, we will have it shipped to Cornell. Borrowing period is one month. Books arrive in 3-4 business days. (This service is for BOOKS only).



If we don't own an item that you need (any item -- journal article, DVD, dissertation, etc.) :

Interlibrary Loan Services

If Cornell Library does not have an item you need, Use ILLiad (InterLibrary Loan Internet Accessible Database) to request that we borrow materials from other libraries. Loan period is usually one month. Items can arrive in as little as a few days to a couple of weeks.

We invite you to check with the reference staff if you are having trouble finding a particular book or journal. We can help!
 

Olin/Uris Reference

Profile ImageMichael Engle
 
Description

  Loading content... please wait