Library Research
HR456—Cross-cultural Perspectives on
Work
Library Research
by Stuart Basefsky 2/08
For this class, methodical use of
Catherwood Library's ILR
RESEARCH PORTAL is recommended. It is necessary to look at
all the categories in the navigation menu under the heading FIND MATERIALS in
the left column. In addition, appropriate SUBJECT GUIDES should be selected as
well.
A quick approach in seeking articles
is to use FIND
ARTICLES from the Library Gateway. This will search nearly 400 journals
simultaneously if selected. Notice the databases with the most “hits”. Use
these databases methodically to find more information.
To methodically find articles that
will illuminate the issues surrounding cross-cultural perspectives on work and globalization,
click on "Article Databases" under FIND MATERIALS. This will open a
page listing numerous article databases. The most useful for this class will be
-
ABI/Inform
ASAPII
Database (via ILR LEXIS ID)
Business
Source Premier
EconLit
EMERALD
FULLTEXT
GenderWatch
PAIS International
PsycARTICLES
Sociological
Abstracts
SSRN
(Social Science Research Network)
Do not overlook the other article
databases, however. Keep in mind that only about 70 percent of the
articles retrieved will be available full-text at your desktop. You will have
to seek the journals available in print format via the library catalog.
Many of the best resources will be
found by clicking on items found in the following three categories under
SUBJECT GUIDES in the ILR RESEARCH PORTAL:
- International/Global
- Statistical
Sources (note in particular, Statistical
Universe)
- Company/Industry
Of particular usefulness will be some of the ILR
Subscription Databases (available only in ILR Buildings).
The key ones will be
BNA Global HR Report
SOCRATES
(Corporate Social Ratings Monitor)
Society
for Human Resource Management (SHRM) (ask for id and password)
Selected web sites (for practitioners--non-academic)
Executive Planet
International Business Etiquette and Manners
Employee Engagement
Country Commercial Gudies from Market Research Library
ABI
controlling vocabularies (suggestions only)
Cross
cultural
Cross
cultural studies
Studies AND Cross cultural
Studies AND Culture
Cross cultural AND Differences
Cross cultural AND Multinational
corporations
Cross cultural AND Japan (location)
Cross cultural AND Training
Cross cultural AND Organizational
behavior
Cross cultural AND Comparative studies
Cross cultural studies AND Culture
Cross cultural studies AND China (location)
Cross cultural studies AND Cultural differences
Cross cultural studies AND Multiculturalism & pluralism
Cross cultural studies AND Comparative analysis
Cross cultural studies AND Organizational behavior
Case studies AND Cross cultural
Culture
Studies
Culture AND Social studies
Culture AND American studies
Studies AND Cultural change
Studies AND Cultural relations
Culture AND Case studies
Studies AND Multiculturalism & pluralism
Studies AND Cultural organizations
Culture AND Black studies
Studies AND Cultural identity
Studies AND Cultural differences
Studies AND Cultural values
Business Source Premier
controlling vocabularies (suggestions only)
CROSS-cultural orientation
INTERCULTURAL communication
CULTURAL awareness
CULTURAL relations
CULTURE
CROSS-cultural analysis
CROSS-cultural differences
CROSS-cultural studies
SOCIOCULTURAL factors
Cornell University Library CATALOG (suggestions only)
Contracting
out --Cross-cultural studies.
Corporate culture.
Cultural awareness.
Culture conflict.
Intercultural communication.
International business enterprises --Management --Cross-cultural studies.
Organizational behavior --Case
studies.
Personnel management --Cross-cultural studies.
Social intelligence.
Description
Loading content... please wait




Loading content... please wait