Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

COML 1114: FWS: Multiple Voices (Fall 2009)  Tags: literature class_guide fiction writing linguistics_language_literature  

Library resources and strategies for students in Comp Lit 1114.101: Multiple Voices: The Fatal Allure of Narcissism
http://guides.library.cornell.edu/narcissism
Last update: Sep 04th, 2009 URL: http://guides.library.cornell.edu/narcissism  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Databases             Print Page
  
 

Useful Tips

Some—but not all—databases provide full-text articles.

If the database does not provide full-text, take down the full article ciation. Then, go back to the library catalog and search for the title of the journal the article appears in. The catalog will indicate which issues of the journal Cornell holds in both print and electronic forms. The full text of the article may be available through a different database.

For more precise searching, search databases individually.

 
 

Databases

Academic Search Premier. EBSCO. Subject area: GENERAL
A general periodical database that provides citations and abstracts for articles from over 4,100 journals and includes full text from over 3,170 journals. You can limit your search to peer-reviewed articles (scholarly articles).

ARTstor Subject area: ART
A searchable database of digital images that covers the fields of architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, and design, as well asmany other forms of visual culture.

JSTOR Subject area: HUMANITIES
JSTOR is a fully-searchable, full-text database containing the back issues of several hundred scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, mathematics, music, ecology and botany, business, and other fields. Note that the most recent three to five years of journal articles are generally not available in JSTOR.

Literature Online (LION) Subject area: LITERATURE
A full-text collection of poetry, drama, and prose with complementary references sources.

Literature Resource Center Subject area: LITERATURE
The Literature Resource Center (LRC) is a literature reference database designed for undergraduate students. LRC combines biographical, bibliographical, and contextual information in articles on authors and their works (fiction, nonfiction, poetry, drama, history, and journalism). Includes Contemporary Authors, Dictionary of Literary Biography, Contemporary Literary Criticism, the Encyclopedia of Literature, The Scribner Writer Series, and The Twayne Authors Series: Twayne's US Authors, Twayne's English Authors and Twayne's World Authors.

MLA International Bibliography
Subject area: LITERATURE & GENERAL
An international database providing references to scholarly articles from over 4000 journals dealing with languages, literature, folklore and linguistics. It is useful for finding literary criticism of a particular author or work, as well as articles on literary theory, women's studies, popular culture, and performing arts.

ProQuest Research Library
Subject area: GENERAL
Indexes and abstracts over 2,000 general interest magazines and scholarly journals covering a wide variety of subjects and academic disciplines. It also includes citations and abstracts to selected newspapers, television and radio programs. The Library subscribes to most of the periodicals indexed. Many (but not all) articles are available full-text.

 
 

Try this

Look in one of the literature databases listed at left to find a citation (not full text) for a critical article on Wilde's Picture of Dorian Gray. Does Cornell provide full text access to that article?

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait