Useful Tips
Subject encyclopedias offer a very quick way to get yourself started on research topics. They are compiled by experts in the field.
To find subject encyclopedias in the Classic catalog, do a guided keyword search for your topic. Enter one or two keyword terms in the first search row, then in the second, enter encyclop? dictionar? handbook? guide? and select any of these from the pull-down menu as additional keyword search terms.
*Question marks function as wildcard charaters.
Subject Encyclopedias
In Print
Buchanan-Brown, J., gen. ed. Cassell's Encyclopaedia of World Literature. 3 vols. New York: William Morrow, 1973.
Uris Ref PN41.C34 1973; also Olin Ref
Cambridge History of Literary Criticism. Cambridge [England]; New York: Cambridge University Press, 1989- 8 vols.
Olin Ref PN86 C1
Encyclopedia of Literary Translation into English. Editor, Olive Classe. London; Chicago: Fitzroy Dearborn Publishers, c 2000. 2 vols.
Olin Ref PN241 E56x 2000+
Harmon, William. A Handbook to Literature. 10th edition. Englewood: Prentice Hall, 2006.
Olin Ref PN41.H355 2006; 8th edition: Uris Ref PN 41.H355x 1999
Online
Citations

Loading Video Clip...
Cornell Study Guides
Comparative Literature: A Reference Bibliography
English Literature : A Guide to Reference Sources
Film
French Literature : A Selected Bibliography to Reference Sources
Library Research Guide for Philosophy
Psychology: a Research Guide
Other Subject Research Guides in the Humanities
Description
Loading content... please wait



Loading content... please wait