Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

HIST 1180: Viking America (Spring 2009)  Tags: medieval_studies vikings history  

A guide to library research on the Vikings
Last update: Mar 20th, 2009 URL: http://guides.library.cornell.edu/vikings  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Background             Print Page
  
 

Tips

Encyclopedias are great for:

  • choosing a topic
  • educating yourself quickly
  • perspective on a topic
  • variant spellings, vocabulary, terminology
  • bibliography
 

General


Oxford Reference Online: History
Outstanding collection of encyclopedias, dictionaries, and companions covering all periods, places and aspects of history.

Cambridge Histories including The Cambridge Medieval History

 

 

 
 

Find Background Material

Subject Encyclopedias

Medieval Scandanavia: An Encyclopedia. 1993. (Olin Reference DL30 .M48+ and Kroch Rare Reference). Articles vary in length but all are accompanied by bibliographies.

Dictionary of the Middle Ages. 12 vols. 1982-1988. (Olin Reference D 114 D55+; also Uris Reference) Articles cover roughly the years 500-1500 A.D. in the lands of the Latin West, the Slavic world, Asia Minor, the lands of the Caliphate in the East, and the Muslim-Christian areas of North Africa. Some entries are only of definition length (e.g. Avignon), but others are more historical and lengthy (e.g. Byzantine Empire, Constantine I, Arms and Armor). Bibliographies are mostly in English.

Medieval Archaeology : an Encyclopedia. 2001. (Olin Reference D125.M42x 2001+) A substantive up-to-date encyclopedia of medieval archaeology, with entries for sites (Sutton Hoo, e.g.), areas (Pre-Viking Scandinavia), ethnic/culture groups (Vikings, Visigoths), artifacts (Stoneware) and activities (Hunting, Cloth-making).

Medieval folklore : a guide to myths, legends, tales, beliefs, and customs. 2002. (Olin Reference and Uris Library Reference GR35 .M43 2002) Two volumes. An interesting and stimulating collection on topics not covered in other medieval encyclopedias.

The Catholic encyclopedia; an international work of reference on the constitution, doctrine, discipline, and history of the Catholic Church.  [c1907-12]. (Also available in print at Olin Reference BX841 .C36) This fifteen volume encyclopedia goes beyond the subject of Catholicism to include science, literature, art and civilization. Particularly good on historical topics and the Middle Ages. Reissued and updated in the 1960s as The New Catholic Encyclopedia (available in print at Olin and Uris Reference). Articles sometimes include bibliography of primary and secondary sources.

The Blackwell Encyclopedia of Anglo-Saxon England. 1998. (Olin Reference DA 152 B58x 1998) People, places, social groups. Most articles contain concise bibliographies.

Medieval England: An Encyclopedia. 1998.(Olin Reference DA 129 .M43x 1998) Articles vary in length but all are accompanied by bibliographies.

Medieval Ireland : an encyclopedia. 2005. (Olin Library Reference DA933 .M43 2005 +) Articles vary in length but all are accompanied by bibliographies.

Ancient Europe 8000 B.C.--A.D. 1000: encyclopedia of the Barbarian world. 2004. Two volumes. (Olin Library Reference D62 .A52x 2004+)

Encyclopedia of barbarian Europe: society in transformation.  2003. (Olin Library Reference D135 .F73x 2003+)

Medieval France: An Encyclopedia. 1995. (Olin Reference DC 33.2 .M48 1995) Articles vary in length but all are accompanied by bibliographies.

Medieval Germany: An Encyclopedia. 2001.
(Olin Reference DD126 .M43x 2001+ )
Articles vary in length but all are accompanied by bibliographies.

Medieval Iberia: An Encyclopedia. 2003. (Olin Reference DP99 .M33x 2003 + ). Articles vary in length but all are accompanied by bibliographies.

Medieval Jewish civilization: an encyclopedia. 2003. (Olin Reference DS124 .M386 2003 +) Articles vary in length but all are accompanied by bibliographies.

Medieval Italy: An Encyclopedia. 2004. (Olin Library Reference DG443 .M43x 2004) Two volumes. Articles vary in length but all are accompanied by bibliographies.

Medieval Islamic civilization: an encyclopedia. 2006. (Olin Library Reference DS36.85 .M434 2006 +) Two volumes.
 

Chronologies, Histories, and Atlases

The New Cambridge Medieval History. 7vols 1995- (Olin Reference and Uris Stacks D117 .N48x 1995). A textbook of sorts in which each chapter has been written by a specialist and each volume concludes with an extensive bibliography. The emphasis is on political and economic history. Other multi-volume sets cover ancient history (Uris D57 .C17 1970; also Olin Reference) and modern history (Uris D208 .N53 1957; also Olin Reference).

Chronology of the Medieval World 800 to 1491. 1973.(Olin Reference D118 .S88 1973) This chronology focuses on western Europe, but an attempt has been made to show contemporary developments in other continents as well.

Atlas of Medieval Europe. 1997. (Uris Reference G1791 .M2x 1997)

 

Virginia Cole

Profile Image****

Help from a librarian (you might not get me) is only a click away:




Contact Info:
Virginia Cole
106 Olin Library
607-255-5359
Send Email

Subjects:
medieval studies, history, digital reference, citation management

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait