Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

HE 1100: College Success: Critical Reading and Thinking (Summer 2009)  Tags: human_ecology research_strategies he1100  

A guide to research strategies, information resources, and library services.
Last update: Jun 24th, 2009 URL: http://guides.library.cornell.edu/he1100  Print Guide  RSS Updates

6. Find articles             Print Page
  
 

Research Strategy

10 Steps to Better Research:

10. Find a web site.

 9. Find a better web site.

 8. Find the Library web site.

 7. Find books on our topic.

 6. Find articles on your topic.

 5. Evaluate your information.

 4. Cite your information.

 3. Find yourself in a library.

 2. Find more....

 1. Ask Your Questions.

 
 

Recommended general subject database to start your search for articles

 Research Library (ProQuest). Ann Arbor: Bell & Howell, 1986- .

 

ProQuest

 

Research Library indexes and abstracts an extensive number of general interest magazines, scholarly journals, and newspapers in the social sciences, humanities and sciences. Full text of many articles is provided.

Click on the Databases Selected link to select and search other ProQuest databases, including a selection of Historical Databases:

  • APS Online (American Periodicals Series) 1740-1900
  • ProQuest Historial Newspapers
    • New York Times 1851-2005
    • Wall Street Journal 1889-1991
    • Washington Post 1877-1992

 Also try the multidisciplinary Academic Source Premier database.

 

Articles and Databases

Browse or Search for articles, databases or images on your topic in Cornell University Library databases.

 

Database Search Options:

 

Article Search Options:

 

  • Use the Articles search from the Library Homepage to do simple searches from selected databases.
  • Use the Advanced search to find articles in one or more databases in a particular subject area.

 

 

Selected Subject Databases

E-Journal Collections

 

 

 JSTOR New York, NY: JSTOR, c1996-.

JSTR

JSTOR is a fully-searchable database containing the back issues of several hundred scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, mathematics, music, ecology and botany, business and other fields. It includes the following collections: Arts & sciences I, II and III, General science, Ecology and botany, Business, Language and literature.

 

Project Muse Baltimore, MD : Johns Hopkins University Press, c1995- .

Project Muse

Searchable database that provides access to the full text of journals published by Johns Hopkins University Press and other university presses in the humanities, social sciences, and mathematics. Covers such fields as literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, and others.

 

 


 

 Subject Databases

Historical Abstracts. Santa Barbara, CA : ABC-Clio, Inc., c1998- .

A complete bibliographical reference to the history of the world from prehistory to the present, covering over 2000 journals published worldwide.

 

MLA International Bibliography. New York: Modern Language Association, 1963- .

MLA
An international index and database providing references to scholarly articles from over 4000 journals dealing with languages, literature, folklore and linguistics. It is useful for finding literary criticism of a particular author or work, as well as articles on literary theory, women's studies, popular culture, and performing arts. The online version of MLA covers 1963 to present. The print version covers 1921 to the present.

 

Google Scholar - Get it Cornell

Look for Get it Cornell links in your Google Scholar search results. These links connect you to full text articles in the Cornell journal collections.


(search results open in a new window)
 
Description

  Loading content... please wait