Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

ENGL 1131.104: Reading and Writing about Latin America (Summer 2009)  Tags: linguistics_language_literature latin_america  

An introductory guide to research strategies and the Cornell University Library's resources and services.
Last update: Jun 24th, 2009 URL: http://guides.library.cornell.edu/engl1131  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Encyclopedias             Print Page
  
 

Research Tips

Use Reference databases to identify and access encyclopedias and other sources to find background information on your research topics.

In the Library Catalog combine keywords like "encyclopedia" or "dictionary" or "handbook" or "guidebook" or "introduction" with other keywords related to your topic.

Look for bibliographies and cross-references at the end of encyclopedia articles.

Use words and phrases that you find in your encyclopedias as keywords in new searches in the Library Catalog, Google, or other subject databases.

 

Online Dictionaries

Use Google for quick checks on spelling and definitions.

(e.g. define plantocracy)

For more detailed analysis, use the Oxford English Dictionary (OED).

 
 

To Wiki or Not to Wiki?

You have all used Wikipedia. It can be a good starting place for your research, but dare to explore further....

There are thousands of both general and specialized subject encyclopedias--digital and print.

If you need information on a topic that you are not familiar with, try starting with an encyclopedia article to learn essential facts, figures, and background on your subject.

 

Use Background Resources to get started.

Use these Reference databases to find and access articles in a variety of encyclopedias and subject dictionaries:

Gale Virtual Reference Library

A database of full text reference encylopedias and dictionaries for the Arts, Business, History, Law, Medicine, Religion, and Social Sciences.

Oxford Reference Online

This databases contains over 100 language and subject dictionaries and reference works of Oxford University Press. Covers general reference, language, science and medicine, humanities and social sciences, business and professional subjects.

 

Reference Universe


A searchable database of back-of-the-book indexes to subject encyclopedias and other reference works in a wide variety of subject areas. Search the contents of more than 4,500 reference titles.

 

A database of 47 reference books published by SAGE covering the social sciences and education, including such areas as African American studies, aged & gerontology, anthropology, communication and media studies, criminology and criminal justice, economics, education, gender & sexuality studies, history, politics, psychology, social issues, social work & social policy, and sociology.

 

Recommended Reference Books

Henderson, James D., Helen Delpar, Maurice P. Brungardt,and Richard N. Weldon, eds. A Reference Guide to Latin American History. Armonk, NY: M.E. Sharpe, 2000.

Olin Library Reference F1410 .H463x 2000 +

 

"It covers topics in society, politics and government, economics, and both high and popular culture, including radio, television, cinema and sports, as well as art, music, and literature. The biographical section contains entries on 300 individuals ranging from artists and religious figures to politicians and rascals." (Amazon review)

Kapiszewski, Diana, ed. Encyclopedia of Latin American Politics. Westport, CT: Oryx Press, 2002.

Olin Library Reference F1410 .E56x 2002 + 
 
"Information on these countries can be found in numerous other sources, among them Encyclopedia of Latin American History and Culture (Scribner, 1996), Reference Guide to Latin American History (Sharpe, 2000), and Worldmark Encyclopedia of the Nations (Gale, 10th ed, 2000), but this volume's country-by-country focus on twentieth-century politics makes it unique." (Booklist)

Smith, Verity, ed. Encyclopedia of Latin American Literature. Chicago: Fitzroy Dearborn, 1997.

Olin Library Reference PQ7081 .A1 E56x 1997

Includes short essays on authors, books, and themes related to the literature of Latin America and the Caribbean.

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait