Annual Surveys of ResearchAtlases & GazeteersBibliographiesBiographical SourcesChronologiesExplication SourcesLiterary Terms and ConceptsSpecialized Encyclopedias & Dictionaries
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

ENGLISH LITERATURE: A Guide to Resources  Tags: english_literature literature  

This bibliography includes titles on English (UK) and Commonwealth literature held by the Reference collections of Olin and Uris Libraries, as well as reference materials accessible online.
Last update: Oct 26th, 2009 URL: http://guides.library.cornell.edu/englishlit  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Explication Sources             Print Page
  
 

Explication Sources

The English Novel. 1578-1956: a Checklist of Twentieth Century Critiicism. Bell, Inglis F. and Donald Baird. Denver: Swallow, 1958. Uris Ref Z 2014 F4 B43
This bibliography includes criticisms (from books as well as journals) of works by English novelists. Arrangement is alphabetical by author and then by title under each author. Continued by Helen Palmer's English Novel Explication: Criticisms to 1972 (Uris Ref Z 2014 F4 P17) and its supplements.

 

English Novel Explication: Criticisms to 1972. Plus Supplements 1976, 1981, 1986, 1990, 1994. Palmer, Helen H. and Anne Jane Dyson, comp. Hamden: Shoe String, 1973, etc. Uris Ref Z 2014 F4 P17; Olin Ref Z 2014 F4 P17
Palmer's book is a comprehensive listing of criticism appearing in books and periodicals from 1958 to 1972, updating an earlier work by Bell and Baird. Supplements to Palmer's work were published in 1976 (comp. by Abernethy, Kloesel and Smitten), in 1981 (comp. by Kloesel and Smitten), and in 1986 (comp. by Kloesel). Arrangement in all volumes is alphabetical by author and then by title under each author. The volumes include cross-references for pseudonyms and joint authors.

 

The Explicator Cyclopedia. Walcult, Charles Child and J. Edwin Whitesell, eds. 3 vols. Chicago: Quadrangle, 1966. Olin Ref PR 401 E96
A compilation of essays written by more than 200 scholars. These essays are drawn from The Explicator, ca. 1942, and provide interpretations of major poems. Volume I is Modern Poetry, Volume 2, Medieval to Late Victorian, and Volume 3, Prose. Arrangement is alphabetical by author.

 

Modern British Literature. Temple, Ruth Z. and Martin Tucker, eds. 5 vols. New York: Frederick Ungar, 1966-1985. Uris Ref PR 473 T28; Olin Ref PR 473 T28, vols. 1-4 only
Included are excerpts from book reviews, periodical articles, collections made by the author and books on a particular author. Authors are listed in alphabetical order, followed by an excerpt from a critical review, the reviewer's name and a complete citation to the book or article. A bibliography is included at the end of the volume.

 

Poetry explication : a checklist of interpretation since 1925 of British and American poems past and present. Joseph M. Kuntz, Nancy Conrad Martinez. Boston : G. K. Hall, c1980. 3d ed.]. Olin Ref Z2014.P7 A73 1980+ (also Uris Ref)

 

 
 
Description

  Loading content... please wait