Annual Surveys of ResearchAtlases & GazeteersBibliographiesBiographical SourcesChronologiesExplication SourcesLiterary Terms and ConceptsSpecialized Encyclopedias & Dictionaries
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

ENGLISH LITERATURE: A Guide to Resources  Tags: english_literature literature  

This bibliography includes titles on English (UK) and Commonwealth literature held by the Reference collections of Olin and Uris Libraries, as well as reference materials accessible online.
Last update: Oct 26th, 2009 URL: http://guides.library.cornell.edu/englishlit  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Bibliographies             Print Page
  
 

Bibliographies

Bibliography of Australian Literaturegeneral editors John Arnold & John Hay ; compiled by Sally Batten ... [et al.]. Kew, Vic. : Australian Scholarly Pub., 2001-2008. 4 vols. Olin Ref Z4021 .B525 2001
Records separately published volumes by Australian authors from 1788 through 2000, except for authors whose first books appeared after 1992. Includes index of variant names and pseudonyms, title index, a separate bibliography of children's books (1989 - 2000), as well as a list of excluded and relocated authors.

 

Kennedy, Arthur G. and Donald B. Sands. A Concise Bibliography for Students of English. 5th ed. Stanford: Stanford UP, 1972. Olin Ref Z 2011 K35 1972
Arranged in three parts dealing with literature, the history of books, and the profession of literary scholarships this bibliography offers "a list of older works of demonstrated usefulness to the student and new works that show great promise." (Preface) Includes an index of periodicals, an index of authors, editors, collaborators, revisors, translators, and assistants, and a subject index.

 

Magill, Frank, ed. Magill's Bibliography of Literary Criticism. 4 vols. Englewood Cliffs: Salem, 1979. Uris Ref Z 5916 Ml9
A bibliography of books and articles on literary criticism in the fields of fiction, drama and poetry. The time span for literature covered runs from the Epic of Gilgamesh to the present. Entries are arranged alphabetically by the author being reviewed. (A complete Title Index is provided at the end of volume 4.)

 

Marcuse, Michael J. A Reference Guide for English Studies. Univ. of California, 1990.Olin Ref Z2011 M32 1990
A large bibliographic overview of literary studies -- not limited to Anglo-American -- arranged by period, country, genre, author, etc., Lists and often annotates important secondary sources. Lists major journals as well as books in any given subject area.

 

Watson, George, et al., ed. The New Cambridge Bibliography of English Literature. 5 vols. London: Cambridge UP, 1969-1977. Uris Ref Z 2011 B32+ 1969; Olin Ref Z 2011 B32+ 1969
Covers English literature from 600 A.D. to modern times. Arranged chronologically and under periods by literary form (e.g. poetry, prose, drama). References given for each author generally include bibliographies of that author, collected editions of his/her works, individual works with dates of 1st editions and subsequent editions within the next 50 years and some biographical and critical citations about the author.

 

World Shakespeare Bibliography.
Published for the Folger Shakespeare Library by The Johns Hopkins University Press, [1999?]- Electronic coverage as of June 3, 2003: 1968-2003. When complete, it will provide annotated entries for all important books, articles, book reviews, dissertations, theatrical productions, reviews of productions, audiovisual materials, electronic media, and other scholarly and popular materials related to Shakespeare and published or produced since 1900.

 

 
 
Description

  Loading content... please wait