Annual Surveys of ResearchAtlases & GazeteersBibliographiesBiographical SourcesChronologiesExplication SourcesLiterary Terms and ConceptsSpecialized Encyclopedias & Dictionaries
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

ENGLISH LITERATURE: A Guide to Resources  Tags: english_literature literature  

This bibliography includes titles on English (UK) and Commonwealth literature held by the Reference collections of Olin and Uris Libraries, as well as reference materials accessible online.
Last update: Oct 26th, 2009 URL: http://guides.library.cornell.edu/englishlit  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Primary Sources             Print Page
  
 

Primary Texts

PRIMARY SOURCE DATABASES FOR ENGLISH

 

The Library provides networked access to many more full-text, primary source databases than can be listed here. Others may be located through the Library Catalog and Database Names, which contains an alphabetical list of online resources related to Linguistics, Language and Literature. NOTE: Also check the Periodical Indexes & Databases tab (above) for resources covering periodical articles from the 19th century and earlier.

 

Columbia Granger’s world of poetry: the electronic Granger’s
Indexes poetry in published anthologies. Contains full text of anthologized poems in the public domain, poetry excerpts from copyrighted works, and citations providing poem title, author, publisher, subject(s), and a list of anthologies in which the selected poem appears. 15,000 authors are represented with references to 558 separate anthologies (1992 release). Also contains audio readings of canonical works, and allows side-by-side comparison of texts.

 

Literature Online. (LION)
A full-text collection of poetry, drama, and prose with complementary references sources. Primary texts include English poetry from 600 to the present; American and African-American poetry from 1603 to the present; English drama; English prose; articles, monographs and dissertations from the Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature; full-text articles from literary journals; and biographical information on widely studied authors. Subsumed in the database are the contents of several Chadwyck-Healey CD-ROM products, including: The Bible in English; Database of African-American Poetry, 1760-1900; Database of Twentieth Century African American Poetry; Editions and Adaptations of Shakespeare; and English Poetry.

 

Early English Books Online (EEBO)
From the first book printed in English by William Caxton, through the age of Spenser and Shakespeare and the tumult of the English Civil War, Early English Books Online) contains over 125,000 titles listed in Pollard & Redgrave's Short-Title Catalogue (1475 - 1640), Wing's Short-Title Catalogue (1641-1700), and the Thomason Tracts (1640-1661).

 

Eighteenth Century Collections Online. (ECCO)
A comprehensive digital edition of The Eighteenth Century microfilm set, which has aimed to include every significant English-language and foreign-language title printed in the United Kingdom, along with thousands of important works from the Americas, between 1701 and 1800. Consists of books, pamphlets, broadsides, ephemera. When completed, the full collection will include nearly 150,000 titles and more than 33,000,000 pages of searchable material.

 

Editions and adaptations of Shakespeare.
"The complete text of eleven major editions of Shakespeare’s works from the First Folio to the Cambridge edition of 1863-6, twenty four separate contemporary printings of individual plays, selected apocrypha and related works and more than 100 adaptations, sequels, and burlesques from the seventeenth, eighteenth, and nineteenth centuries."

 

Brown University Women Writers Project
"The mission of the Brown University Women Writers Project is to create, develop, and make accessible a state-of-the-art electronic textbase of women's writing in English before 1830. The WWP textbase is intended to support a wide range of activities, including new research on texts, information technology, and cultural history; publications and other textbase products; and innovative approaches to teaching."--Title screen

 

Dictionary of Old English, Old English Corpus.
This edition includes over 3,000 different texts and was constructed from a version supplied by the Dictionary of Old English Project in 1998.

 

Scottish Women Poets of the Romantic Period Alexander Street Press, [2002]-
"Contains 60 volumes of Romantic Poetry, extensive contemporary critical reviews, as well as material specially written for this database by leading scholars." - website

 

TEAMS Middle English Texts
"The TEAMS Middle English Texts are published for TEAMS (The Consortium for the Teaching of the Middle Ages) in association with the University of Rochester by Medieval Institute Publications, Western Michigan University, Kalamazoo, Michigan... The focus is upon literature adjacent to that normally in print, which teachers need in compiling the syllabi they wish to teach. The editions maintain the linguistic integrity of the original works but within the parameters of modern reading conventions.[web site]"


Victorian women writers project
Indiana University, [1995]-
"The goal of the Victorian Women Writers Project is to produce highly accurate transcriptions of works by British women writers of the 19th century, encoded using the Standard Generalized Markup Language (SGML. The works...include anthologies, novels, political pamphlets, religious tracts, children's books, and volumes of poetry and verse drama." - website

 

British History Online.
Produced by the Institute of Historical Research, University of London : History of Parliament Trust, British History Online is the digital library containing some of the core printed primary and secondary sources for the medieval and modern history of the British Isles.

 

 
 
Description

  Loading content... please wait