Annual Surveys of ResearchAtlases & GazeteersBibliographiesBiographical SourcesChronologiesExplication SourcesLiterary Terms and ConceptsSpecialized Encyclopedias & Dictionaries
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

ENGLISH LITERATURE: A Guide to Resources  Tags: english_literature literature  

This bibliography includes titles on English (UK) and Commonwealth literature held by the Reference collections of Olin and Uris Libraries, as well as reference materials accessible online.
Last update: Oct 26th, 2009 URL: http://guides.library.cornell.edu/englishlit  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Book Review Sources             Print Page
  
 

Resources for Finding Reviews

See also Book Reviews: a Finding Guide for additional resources.

 

Arts & Humanities Citation Index (A&HCI)part of Web of Science
ISI citation databases -- under the collective name Web of Science -- are multidisciplinary databases of bibliographic information indexed to be searched by subject, author, journal, and/or author address. They can also be searched for articles that cite a known author or work. Cited reference searching allows use of a given work as if it were a subject term, to identify more recent articles on the same topic. search by footnoted source (1975 - date)

 

Book Review Digest. Bronx, NY: H. W. Wilson, 1983- .
Covers 1983 to date; see print version in Olin Reference Z1219 B72 for earlier coverage. Use the online version only as a last resort. It's confusing to search and has limited coverage. Prefer other resources listed here. Reviews of English language adult and juvenile fiction and non-fiction titles. Book reviews are selected from journals in the humanities, sciences, social sciences and library review media.

 

Book Review Index. Detroit: Gale, 1965- . Monthly. (Uris Ref Z 1219 .B721; Olin Ref Z 1219 .B721)
Covers 1965 to date. Five-year cumulated indexes ease searching. Indexes reviews of books and periodicals appearing in over 500 scholarly, popular, and professional periodicals. Titles reviewed include children's, young adult, and reference books. Each record includes: author and title of the work being reviewed, journal title abbreviation, date of review, page number, and indication of the length of the review. Abbreviations and full journal titles are listed in the front of each volume.

 

Index to Book Reviews in the Humanities. Williamston, MI: P. Thomson. (Olin Ref AI 3 .I367)
Covers 1960-1990. Annual index.

 

JSTOR: The Scholarly Journal Archive.
Covers from the beginning of the journal (earliest is 1665) up to within three to five years of the present. Rich in book reviews and review journals for specific subjects and disciplines, JSTOR is a fully-searchable, full-text database containing the back issues of several hundred scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, mathematics, music, ecology and botany, business, and other fields. List of journals included and years covered. To find book reviews, select Advanced Search. In the Advanced Search page, type one or two keywords from the book title in the first search box. Under Narrow Your Search to "These Types," check the Review box. Click Search.

 

Proquest Research Library
Research Library, formerly known as Periodical Abstracts, is a comprehensive database available through the ProQuest online system. It indexes and abstracts general interest magazines and scholarly journals in the social sciences, humanities and sciences.

 

Periodicals Contents Index (PCI). 1770 - 1993. (Library Gateway)
Electronic index to thousands of periodicals in the humanities and social sciences, covering each periodical from its first issue. Every article is indexed. The scope is international, including journals in English, French, German, Italian, Spanish and other languages. Coverage currently extends from 1665 through 1995.

 

Readers' Guide Retrospective. New York: H. W. Wilson Co
A database containing comprehensive indexing of the most popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States. Reflects the history of 20th century America. Covers these areas: Aeronautics, African-Americans, Aging, Archeology, Astronomy, Automobiles, Biographies, Business, Children, Education, Environment, Fashion, Film, Fine Arts, Food, Foreign Affairs, Gardening, Health, History, Hobbies, Home, Journalism, Leisure Activities, Literature, Medicine, Music, News, Nutrition, Photography, Politics, Popular Culture, Radio, Religion, Science, Sports, Technology, Television, Travel. The complete database covers the years 1890 through 1982. Also known as Reader's Guide or Readers Guide.

 

See Also: Book Reviews: A Finding Guide

 
 
Description

  Loading content... please wait