Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

THETR 1260.101: In On the Act: the Spectator's Role in Comedy (Spring 2009)  Tags: theatre theater film comedy  

A guide to library resources for students in Theatre Arts 1260
Last update: Apr 06th, 2009 URL: http://guides.library.cornell.edu/theatre1260  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Find Articles            Print Page
  
 

Periodical Indexes and Databases

Given the multidisciplinary perspectives from which literature can be approached, the following list represents only those resources centered for the most part on literary study. Others, such as Philosophers Index, Historical Abstracts, Women's Studies International or PsycINFO may be just as relevant depending on the specific subject. Searching the Library Catalog and Find It! Databases will indentify or provide access to far more of these resources than can be listed here.

 

L’année Philologique: APh.
Online version of L’Année Philologique covering volumes published since 1969. L’Année Philologique is an exhaustive index of periodicals, books and festschriften in classics and classical studies. It covers Greek and Latin linguistics and literature and Greek and Roman archaeology, history, mythology, religion, epigraphy, numismatics and palaeography: all aspects of the ancient Mediterranean world.

 

Arts & Humanities Citation Index (A&HCI)
ISI citation databases -- under the collective name Web of Science -- are multidisciplinary databases of bibliographic information indexed to be searched by subject, author, journal, and/or author address. They can also be searched for articles that cite a known author or work. Cited reference searching allows use of a given work as if it were a subject term, to identify more recent articles on the same topic. search by footnoted source (1975 - date)

FIAF International Filmarchive Database [electronic resource].
Contains: International index to film periodicals, 1972- (see description below); International index to television periodicals, 1979- ; List of periodicals indexed; Treasures from the film archives; International directory of film and TV documentation collections; and Bibliography of FIAF members' publications.


Film Literature Index. 1976 - 2001 online; 1976 - current in Olin Reference
The Film Literature Index (FLI) annually indexes 150 film and television periodicals from 30 countries cover-to-cover and 200 other periodicals selectively for articles on film and television. The periodicals range from the scholarly to the popular. More than 2,000 subject headings provide detailed analysis of the articles. The FLI Online contains approximately 700,000 citations to articles, film reviews and book reviews published between1976-2001 . You can search the citations or browse by subject headings, browse by person names, browse by production titles, or browse by corporate names. 2002 - current volumes in paper in Olin Reference Ref PN 1993 F479

 

Humanities International Index
A comprehensive database covering journals, books and other important reference sources in the humanities and provides cover-to-cover indexing and abstracting for over 1,700 journals and contains more than 1.5 million records. Humanities International Index includes deep backfiles for some of the most important journals in the area of humanities. The database includes all data from American Humanities Index plus bibliographic records from a multitude of international journals, books and reference works. This database provides citations and abstracts for articles, essays and reviews, as well as original creative works including poems, fiction, photographs, paintings and illustrations.

 

International Index to the Performing Arts (IIPA)
IIPA Full Text covers a broad spectrum of the arts and entertainment industry--including dance, film, television, drama, theater, stagecraft, musical theater, broadcast arts, circus performance, comedy, storytelling, opera, pantomime, puppetry, magic and more. Full text from 1999 onward.

 

JSTOR.
JSTOR is a fully-searchable database containing the back issues of several hundred scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, mathematics, music, ecology and botany, business and other fields. It includes the following collections: Arts & sciences I, II and III, General science, Ecology and botany, Business, Language and literature.

 

MLA Bibliography New York: Modern Language Assn., 1921-. in print: Olin Z 7006 M68+
The premier scholarly bibliography covering languages, literatures, folklore, film and linguistics from all over the world. Online coverage back to 1926.

 

Periodicals Index Online 
Electronic index to thousands of periodicals in the humanities and social sciences, covering each periodical from its first issue. Every article is indexed. The scope is international, including journals in English, French, German, Italian, Spanish and other languages. Coverage currently extends from 1665 through 1995.

 

Philosopher’s Index
Provides indexing and abstracts from books and many journals on philosophy and related interdisciplinary fields published in the U.S. and the Western World. Coverage is from 1940 to the present for U.S. materials, and 1967 to the present for non-U.S. references.
 

Subject Guide

Fred Muratori
Contact Info:
106 Olin Library
Cornell University
(607) 255-6662
Send Email

Subjects:
English-language literature, theater, film

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait