Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

ENGL 2700.103: The Reading of Fiction (Spring 2009)  Tags: literature fiction short_stories  

A guide to information resources for students in Prof. Braddock's English 2700 class.
Last update: Apr 03rd, 2009 URL: http://guides.library.cornell.edu/english2700jb  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Find Articles            Print Page
  
 

Finding Periodical Articles

PERIODICAL INDEXES

  • Humanities International Index
    A comprehensive database covering journals, books and other important reference sources in the humanities and provides cover-to-cover indexing and abstracting for over 1,700 journals and contains more than 1.5 million records. Humanities International Index includes deep backfiles for some of the most important journals in the area of humanities. The database includes all data from American Humanities Index plus bibliographic records from a multitude of international journals, books and reference works. This database provides citations and abstracts for articles, essays and reviews, as well as original creative works including poems, fiction, photographs, paintings and illustrations.
  •  

  • JSTOR
  • JSTOR is a fully-searchable database containing the back issues of several hundred scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, mathematics, music, ecology and botany, business and other fields. It includes the following collections: Arts & sciences I, II and III, General science, Ecology and botany, Business, Language and literature.

     

  • MLA International Bibliography
  • An international database providing references to scholarly articles from over 4000 journals dealing with languages, literature, folklore and linguistics. It is useful for finding literary criticism of a particular author or work, as well as articles on literary theory, women's studies, popular culture, and performing arts.

     

  • Research Library (ProQuest) 
  • Indexes and abstracts over 1600 general interest magazines and scholarly journals including all the magazines in Reader's Guide and most of the scholarly journals from Social Sciences Index, Humanities Index, General Science Index. It also includes citations and abstracts to selected television and radio programs. The Library subscribes to most of the periodicals indexed. Holdings can be found easily since the titles are linked to the online catalog.

     

  • Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature. 1920- (ABELL) ABELL contains over 814,000 records covering monographs, periodical articles, critical editions of literary works, book reviews, collections of essays and doctoral dissertations published anywhere in the world from 1920 onwards. All aspects and periods of English literature are covered, from Anglo-Saxon times to the present day. British, American and Commonwealth writing are all represented. Coverage is international, including material in languages other than English.

 

  • Historical Abstracts or America: History & Life.
    These historical periodical databases cover several thousand journals, including historical journals from almost every country and selections of journals in the social sciences and humanities for researchers and students of history. America: History & Life focuses on the U.S. and Canda, while Historical Abstracts covers the rest of the world.

 

 

Subject Guide

Fred Muratori
Contact Info:
106 Olin Library
Cornell University
(607) 255-6662
Send Email

Subjects:
English-language literature, theater, film

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait