Useful Tips
Subject encyclopedias offer a very quick way to get yourself started on research topics. They are compiled by experts in the field.
To find subject encyclopedias in the library catalog do a guided keyword search for your topic. Enter one or two keyword terms in the first search row, then in the second, enter encyclop? dictionar? handbook? guide? and select any of these from the pull-down menu as additional keyword search terms.
*Question marks function as wildcard characters.
Subject Encyclopedias
CERVANTES
The Cambridge companion to Cervantes. edited by Anthony J. Cascardi. Cambridge, U.K. ; New York : Cambridge University Press, 2002. (Olin and Uris Library PQ6351 .C27 2002)
Ward, Phillip, ed. The
Oxford Companion to Spanish Literature. Oxford: Clarendon, 1978. (Olin
and Uris Reference PQ 6006 O98; also Spanish edition, Olin stacks PQ6006 O98
1984). Some entries include bibliography. No index.
The Cervantes
encyclopedia. Howard Mancing. Westport, Conn. : Greenwood Press,
2004. 2 volumes. Includes bibliographical references and index. (Olin
Library PQ6337 .A2x 2004+)
Don Quijote dictionary.
compiled by Tom Lathrop. Newark, Del. : Juan de la Cuesta, c1999. Olin
Library (Temporarily Shelved at Uris Library Reserve) PQ6330.A5 D667x 1999
The novel according to Cervantes. Stephen Gilman. Berkeley : University of California
Press, c1989. (Olin Library and Uris Library PQ6353 .G48,
also online)
SHAKESPEARE
All Things Shakespeare: an Encyclopedia of Shakespeare’s World. Kirstin Olsen.
Published: Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press, c2002. 2 v. Uris Ref PR2892 O56x 2002 [2 Volumes]
Dictionary of Shakespeare. Louise McConnell. Teddington, Middlesex : Peter Collin, 2000. A comprehensive dictionary that covers the plays, poems, characters and background to Shakespeare's works. The dictionary also includes terms used in the theatre and stagecraft, as well as historical references and details on the Elizabethan historical and social period.
A Dictionary of Shakespeare. Stanley Wells, with the assistance of James Shaw. Oxford : Oxford University Press, 1998."
Oxford Companion to Shakespeare. Oxford: Oxford University Press, 2001. Also in print:Olin Ref PR2892 O94 2001 + and Uris Ref PR2892 O94 2001
Readers' Encyclopedia of Shakespeare. New York: Thomas Crowell, 1966. Uris Ref PR 2892 C17+; also Olin Ref
Shakespeare A to Z: The Essential Reference to His Plays, His Poems, His Life and Times, and More. New York: Facts on File, 1990. Uris Ref PR2892 B78
Shakespearean Criticism: Excerpts from the Criticism of William Shakespeare’s Plays and Poetry, from the First Published Appraisals to Current Evaluations. Detroit, Mich.: Gale Research Co.94 volumes. Olin STACKS (3rd floor) Oversize PR2965 S53+ Contains text of critical articles on Shakespeare's work from all historical periods. Note that individual articles are often abridged.
Shakespeare at Cornell

William Shakespeare. Mr. William Shakespeares Comedies, Histories, & Tragedies.
Published according to the true originall copies. London, Printed by Isaac Iaggard, and Ed. Blount, 1623.
Also known as the First Folio.
Source: Cornell University Library
Description
Loading content... please wait



Loading content... please wait