Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

ENGL 4480: Charles Dickens (Spring 2009)  Tags: linguistics_language_literature dickens charles_dickens english_literature  

A guide to research strategies, information resources, and library services in the Cornell University Library.
Last update: Apr 13th, 2009 URL: http://guides.library.cornell.edu/dickens  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Find Articles/Databases             Print Page
  
 

Research Tips

See Search Tips: Articles for more information.

Look for Get it Cornell links to retrieve full text articles online.

All databases and journals can also be found in the Library Catalog.

 
 

Recommended general subject database to start your search for articles

 Research Library (ProQuest). Ann Arbor: Bell & Howell, 1986- .

 

ProQuest

 

Research Library indexes and abstracts an extensive number of general interest magazines, scholarly journals, and newspapers in the social sciences, humanities and sciences. Full text of many articles is provided.

Click on the Databases Selected link to select and search other ProQuest databases, including a selection of Historical Databases:

  • APS Online (American Periodicals Series) 1740-1900
  • ProQuest Historial Newspapers
    • New York Times 1851-2005
    • Wall Street Journal 1889-1991
    • Washington Post 1877-1992

 Also try the multidisciplinary Academic Source Premier database.

 

Articles and Databases

Browse or Search for articles, databases or images on your topic in Cornell University Library databases.

 

Database Search Options:

 

Article Search Options:

 

  • Use the Articles search from the Library Homepage to do simple searches from selected databases.
  • Use the Advanced search to find articles in one or more databases in a particular subject area.

 

 

Literature Databases

Literature Online (LION). Alexandria, VA: Chadwyck-Healey, Inc., c1999-.

LION

A full-text collection of poetry, drama, and prose with complementary references sources. Includes articles, monographs, and dissertations from the Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature; full-text articles from literary journals (with links to JSTOR journals); and biographical information on widely studied authors.

 

Literature Resource Center. [Farmington Hills, MI] : Gale Group, c1999.LRC

A complete literature database combining biographical, bibliographical, and contextual information on authors and their works (fiction, nonfiction, poetry, drama, history, and journalism). Draws from Gale Group's core literary databases including Contemporary Authors, Dictionary of Literary Biography, and Contemporary Literary Criticism.

 

More Literature Databases and E-Journal Collections

Specialized Subject Databases 

MLA International Bibliography. New York: Modern Language Association, 1963- .

An international index and database providing   references to scholarly articles from over 4000 journals dealing with languages, literature, folklore and linguistics.

Humanities International Complete . Ipswich, MA: EBSCO, 199?- .

Humanities International Complete provides full text of hundreds of journals, books and other published sources from around the world.

 


e-Journal Collections

 

JSTOR New York, NY: JSTOR, c1996-.

JSTOR is a fully-searchable database containing the back issues of several hundred scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, mathematics, music, ecology and botany, business and other fields.

Project Muse Baltimore, MD: Johns Hopkins University Press, c1995- .

Project Muse provides access to the full text of journals covering literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, and others.

Search or browse the 26,000+ e-Journals licensed by the Cornell University Library.

 

 

Periodical Indexes and Databases

 

Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature. 1920- (ABELL)
ABELL contains over 814,000 records covering monographs, periodical articles, critical editions of literary works, book reviews, collections of essays and doctoral dissertations published anywhere in the world from 1920 onwards. All aspects and periods of English literature are covered, from Anglo-Saxon times to the present day. British, American and Commonwealth writing are all represented. Coverage is international, including material in languages other than English.

 

Arts & Humanities Citation Index (A&HCI)
ISI citation databases -- under the collective name Web of Science -- are multidisciplinary databases of bibliographic information indexed to be searched by subject, author, journal, and/or author address. They can also be searched for articles that cite a known author or work. Cited reference searching allows use of a given work as if it were a subject term, to identify more recent articles on the same topic. search by footnoted source (1975 - date)

 

Humanities International Index
A comprehensive database covering journals, books and other important reference sources in the humanities and provides cover-to-cover indexing and abstracting for over 1,700 journals and contains more than 1.5 million records. Humanities International Index includes deep backfiles for some of the most important journals in the area of humanities. The database includes all data from American Humanities Index plus bibliographic records from a multitude of international journals, books and reference works. This database provides citations and abstracts for articles, essays and reviews, as well as original creative works including poems, fiction, photographs, paintings and illustrations.

 

19th Century Masterfile: a paratext resource
19th century masterfile/Poole's is a reference service for scholars, bibliographers, and students of the Nineteenth Century. It is a scholarly tool for mining the riches of this extraordinary period. Access is by annual subscription. It is a great deal more than an enhanced Web edition of William Frederick Poole's Index to Periodical Literature. It is a continually expanding resource for the study of Nineteenth-Century cultural and intellectual life.

 

Periodicals Index Online(formerly, PCI)
Electronic index to thousands of periodicals in the humanities and social sciences, covering each periodical from its first issue. Every article is indexed. The scope is international, including journals in English, French, German, Italian, Spanish and other languages. Coverage currently extends from 1665 through 1995.

 

Royal Historical Society bibliography (Online) Oxford University Press.
Database contains 300,000 records on British and Irish history, including relations with the empire and Commonwealth. Bibliography includes books, articles in journals and collective volumes, and review articles, incorporating the content of the print annual bibliographies for 1993-2000; with updates to follow. The on-line edition also includes some earlier publications, with near-comprehensive coverage of works published since 1900 and select earlier works.

 

Wellesley Index to Victorian periodicals, 1824-1900. [London] Routledge & K. Paul [c1966-1989] 5 vols. Olin Library Reference Z Z6944 V6 W45+
Continued online by The Curran Index: additions to and corrections of the Wellesley Index to Victorian periodicals, an index to emendations of the Wellesley Index that have appeared in print between 1989 and 2003, and a continuation of those additions and corrections. Also included are attributions and other information concerning periodicals that were not originally covered by the Wellesley Index.

 

Google Scholar - Get it Cornell

Look for Get it Cornell links in your Google Scholar search results. These links connect you to full text articles in the Cornell journal collections.


(search results open in a new window)
 
Description

  Loading content... please wait