Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

ENGL 3570: Gothic Conventions and Reinventions (Spring 2009)  Tags: linguistics_language_literature gothic  

A guide to research strategies, information resources, and library services.
Last update: Mar 27th, 2009 URL: http://guides.library.cornell.edu/gothic  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Find Articles/Databases             Print Page
  
 

Research Tips

See Search Tips: Articles for more information.

Look for Get it Cornell links to retrieve full text articles online.

All databases and journals can also be found in the Library Catalog.

 
 

Recommended general subject database to start your search for articles

 Research Library (ProQuest). Ann Arbor: Bell & Howell, 1986- .

 

ProQuest

 

Research Library indexes and abstracts an extensive number of general interest magazines, scholarly journals, and newspapers in the social sciences, humanities and sciences. Full text of many articles is provided.

Click on the Databases Selected link to select and search other ProQuest databases, including a selection of Historical Databases:

  • APS Online (American Periodicals Series) 1740-1900
  • ProQuest Historial Newspapers
    • New York Times 1851-2005
    • Wall Street Journal 1889-1991
    • Washington Post 1877-1992

 Also try the multidisciplinary Academic Source Premier database.

 

Articles and Databases

Browse or Search for articles, databases or images on your topic in Cornell University Library databases.

 

Database Search Options:

 

Article Search Options:

 

  • Use the Articles search from the Library Homepage to do simple searches from selected databases.
  • Use the Advanced search to find articles in one or more databases in a particular subject area.

 

 

Literature Databases

Literature Online (LION). Alexandria, VA: Chadwyck-Healey, Inc., c1999-.

LION

A full-text collection of poetry, drama, and prose with complementary references sources. Includes articles, monographs, and dissertations from the Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature; full-text articles from literary journals (with links to JSTOR journals); and biographical information on widely studied authors.

 

Literature Resource Center. [Farmington Hills, MI] : Gale Group, c1999.LRC

A complete literature database combining biographical, bibliographical, and contextual information on authors and their works (fiction, nonfiction, poetry, drama, history, and journalism). Draws from Gale Group's core literary databases including Contemporary Authors, Dictionary of Literary Biography, and Contemporary Literary Criticism.

 

More Literature Databases and E-Journal Collections

Specialized Subject Databases

MLA International Bibliography. New York: Modern Language Association, 1963- .

An international index and database providing references to scholarly articles from over 4000 journals dealing with languages, literature, folklore and linguistics.

Humanities International Index. Ipswich, MA: EBSCO, 199?- .

A comprehensive database covering journals, books and other important reference sources in the humanities and provides cover-to-cover indexing and abstracting for over 1,700 journals and contains more than 1.5 million records. Humanities International Index includes deep backfiles for some of the most important journals in the area of humanities. The database includes all data from American Humanities Index plus bibliographic records from a multitude of international journals, books and reference works. This database provides citations and abstracts for articles, essays and reviews, as well as original creative works including poems, fiction, photographs, paintings and illustrations.

 


e-Journal Collections

 

JSTOR New York, NY: JSTOR, c1996-.

JSTOR is a fully-searchable database containing the back issues of several hundred scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, mathematics, music, ecology and botany, business and other fields.

Project Muse Baltimore, MD: Johns Hopkins University Press, c1995- .

Project Muse provides access to the full text of journals covering literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, and others.

Search or browse the 26,000+ e-Journals licensed by the Cornell University Library.

 

 

More Periodical Indexes & Databases

The Library provides networked access to many more secondary source databases -- indexes and full-text -- than can be listed here. Others may be located through the Library Catalog and Database Names.

America: History & Life.
Covers several thousand journals, including historical journals from almost every country and selections of journals in the social sciences and humanities for researchers and students of history.

Annual bibliography of English Language and Literature (ABELL)
Compiled by members of the Modern Humanities Research Association. ABELL is an index to critical material on English-language literature; it overlaps somewhat with the MLA, but includes some journals and articles the MLA does not, as well as books reviews of scholarly works. Some ABELL citations link to full-text articles.

Arts & Humanities Citation Index (A&HCI)
ISI citation databases -- under the collective name Web of Science -- are multidisciplinary databases of bibliographic information indexed to be searched by subject, author, journal, and/or author address. They can also be searched for articles that cite a known author or work. Cited reference searching allows use of a given work as if it were a subject term, to identify more recent articles on the same topic. search by footnoted source (1975 - date)

Periodicals Index Online (formerly PCI)

Electronic index to thousands of periodicals in the humanities and social sciences, covering each periodical from its first issue. Every article is indexed. The scope is international, including journals in English, French, German, Italian, Spanish and other languages. Coverage currently extends from 1770 through 1993.

Twayne's Authors Series.
Offers critical introductions to the lives and works of writers, to the history and influence of literary movements, and to the development of literary genres. "The Twayne Authors Series is the premier literary reference resource series comprising Twayne's U.S. Authors, Twayne's English Authors, and Twayne's World Authors. Each of these individual titles provides literary criticism for approximately 200 authors, bringing the total number of authors covered in the Series to nearly 600."

 

Primary Texts

19th Century Masterfile: a Paratext Resource.

A searchable index to periodical articles published in the United States and Great Britain during the 19th century. Corresponds in part to the printed Poole’s index to Periodical Literature.

 

APS Online (American Periodicals Series)
APS Online spans over 1,500 titles and 7 million pages of content, from the first American magazines, published in 1741, to the World War II period-200 years of American history as recorded in magazines, journals, and newspapers.

Google Scholar - Get it Cornell

Look for Get it Cornell links in your Google Scholar search results. These links connect you to full text articles in the Cornell journal collections.


(search results open in a new window)
 
Description

  Loading content... please wait