BibliographiesBiographical SourcesEnglish Language DictionariesLiterary Terms and ConceptsSpecialized Encyclopedias & Dictionaries
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

ENGL 3670.1: Studies in U.S. Fiction After 1900 (Spring 2009)  Tags: american_literature fiction literature  

Library research guide for students in Prof. Braddock's English 3670 class.
Last update: Mar 23rd, 2009 URL: http://guides.library.cornell.edu/english3670jb  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Periodical Indexes & Databases             Print Page
  
 

Periodical Indexes & Databases

The Library provides networked access to many more secondary source databases -- indexes and full-text -- than can be listed here. Others may be located through the Library Catalog and Database Names.

America: History & Life.
Covers several thousand journals, including historical journals from almost every country and selections of journals in the social sciences and humanities for researchers and students of history.

 

Annual bibliography of English Language and Literature (ABELL)
Compiled by members of the Modern Humanities Research Association. ABELL is an index to critical material on English-language literature; it overlaps somewhat with the MLA, but includes some journals and articles the MLA does not, as well as books reviews of scholarly works. Some ABELL citations link to full-text articles.

 

Arts & Humanities Citation Index (A&HCI)
ISI citation databases -- under the collective name Web of Science -- are multidisciplinary databases of bibliographic information indexed to be searched by subject, author, journal, and/or author address. They can also be searched for articles that cite a known author or work. Cited reference searching allows use of a given work as if it were a subject term, to identify more recent articles on the same topic. search by footnoted source (1975 - date)

 

Black studies database: Kaiser index to Black resources
" ... covers events critical to the study of Black life and culture outside of Africa including notable figures in Black history, culture, and sports; the Civil Rights Movement; the growth of the NAACP and the National Urban League; the Southern Christian Leadership Conference; jazz and soul music; ... from more than 150 publications relevant to the Black experience and African Diaspora."


Comprehensive Index to English-language Little Magazines, 1890-1970, Series One edited by Marion Sader. Millwood, NY: Kraus Thomson, 1976. 8 vols. Olin Reference AI3 S12+
Indexes articles, creative works, letters and reviews published in 100 small literary magazines published between 1890 - 1970, roughly half of them American. Arrangement is alphapbetical by author or subject.

 

Humanities International Index
A comprehensive database covering journals, books and other important reference sources in the humanities and provides cover-to-cover indexing and abstracting for over 1,700 journals and contains more than 1.5 million records. Humanities International Index includes deep backfiles for some of the most important journals in the area of humanities. The database includes all data from American Humanities Index plus bibliographic records from a multitude of international journals, books and reference works. This database provides citations and abstracts for articles, essays and reviews, as well as original creative works including poems, fiction, photographs, paintings and illustrations.

 

JSTOR: the Scholarly Journal Archive.
JSTOR is a fully-searchable database containing the back issues of several hundred scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, mathematics, music, ecology and botany, business, and other fields. It includes the following collections: Arts & sciences I, II and III, General science, Ecology and botany, Business, Language and literature.

 

MLA Bibliography
The largest and most comprehensive database covering scholarship in the modern languages, linguistics, literature, folklore, and drama, including film, opera, radio, television and theater. Literary criticism and literary theory are covered extensively. Approximately 4,000 journals and series are screened, and entries for books are included. Records appear both for collections of essays and for their contents. Print volumes covering 1922 - 1962 are in Olin Reference.

 

19th Century Masterfile: a paratext resource
19th century masterfile/Poole's is a reference service for scholars, bibliographers, and students of the Nineteenth Century. It is a scholarly tool for mining the riches of this extraordinary period. Access is by annual subscription. It is a great deal more than an enhanced Web edition of William Frederick Poole's Index to Periodical Literature. It is a continually expanding resource for the study of Nineteenth-Century cultural and intellectual life.

 

Periodicals Index Online (formerly PCI)
Electronic index to thousands of periodicals in the humanities and social sciences, covering each periodical from its first issue. Every article is indexed. The scope is international, including journals in English, French, German, Italian, Spanish and other languages. Coverage currently extends from 1770 through 1993.

 

Twayne's Authors Series.
Offers critical introductions to the lives and works of writers, to the history and influence of literary movements, and to the development of literary genres. "The Twayne Authors Series is the premier literary reference resource series comprising Twayne's U.S. Authors, Twayne's English Authors, and Twayne's World Authors. Each of these individual titles provides literary criticism for approximately 200 authors, bringing the total number of authors covered in the Series to nearly 600."

 

 
 
Description

  Loading content... please wait