Bibliographies
- French William, et al. Afro-American Poetry and Drama, 1760-1975: a Guide to Information Sources. Detroit: Gale, 1979. Olin Ref Z 1229 N39 A25
- Really two volumes in one: section one is entitled Afro-American Poetry, 1760-1975 and section two is Afro-American Drama, 1850-1975. Both sections are divided into General Studies containing works of reference, history and criticism and Individual Authors listing an author's books of poetry as well as biographical and critical studies. There are author, title and subject indexes at the end of this volume.
- Gohdes, Clarence. Bibliographical Guide to the Study of the Literature of the U.S.A. 5th rev.ed. Durham: Duke, 1984. Olin Ref Z 1225 G61 1984
- A guide for students and teachers which will aid in the techniques of research. Materials listed include American history, biography, art, religion, and philosophy. Arrangement is topical with author and subject indexes. Uris has 4th edition only.
- Inge, M. Thomas ed. Black American Writers: Bibliographical Essays. 2 vols. New York: St. Martins, 1978.(Uris Ref PS 153 N5 B62; also Olin)
- This work is intended as "an appraisal of the best biographical and critical writings about America's serminal black writers, as well as an identification of manuscript and special sources for continued study...Volume 1 covers the early black writers of the eighteenth century, the slave narratives, the early modern writers, the Harlem Renaissance, the Langston Hughes. Vol. 2 focuses on four major twentieth-century black writers: Richard Wright, Ralph Ellison, James Baldwin, and Amiri Baraka (Leroi Jones)." (Preface)
- Jones, Howard Mumford, and Richard M. Ludwig. Guide to American Literature and its
- Backgrounds since 1890. 4th rev. ed. Cambridge: Harvard 1972. Uris Ref Z 1225 J77 1972; also Olin
- A guide listing works presenting the intellectual, sociological, and political backgrounds of American literary history. Includes an extensive reading list on American literature.
- Magill, Frank, ed. Magill's Bibliography of Literary Criticism. 4 vols. Englewood Cliffs: Salem, 1979. Uris Ref Z 5916 M19
- A bibliography of books and articles on literary criticism in the fields of fiction, drama and poetry. The time span for literature covered runs from the Epic of Gilgamesh to the present. Entries are arranged alphabetically by the author being reviewed. (A complete Title Index is provided at the end of Volume 4.)
- Peck, David R. American Ethnic Literatures: Native American, African American,
- Chicano/Latino, and Asian American Writers and their Backgrounds: An Annotated Bibliography. Pasadena: Salem, 1992. Olin Ref Z1229 E87 P36 1992
- A focused yet thorough annotated bibliography of primary and secondary works related to the four groups noted in the title, including background material such as brief narrative histories. Identifies major journals in the field, and lists individual authors and their works by race/ethnicity.
- Wright, L. H. American Fiction, 1774-1850: a Contribution Toward a Bibliography. 2nd rev. ed. San Marino: Huntington Library, 1969. (Plus supplements 1851-1875 and 1876-1900.) Uris Ref Z 1231 F4 W95 1969; also Olin
- This bibliography lists American editions of prose fiction written by Americans and published between 1774 and 1850. Books are entered under author's name, when that is known; otherwise, by title, unless unidentified pseudonym of author's initial appear. The compiler's intention was that it serve as a guide to American fiction, rather than as a complete bibliographical description. Chronological and title indexes are included. This volume is followed by supplements covering the years 1851-1875 and 1876-1900 respectively. For those volumes see Uris Reference Z 1231 F4 W951 1965 and Uris Reference Z 1231 F4 W952.
Description
Loading content... please wait





Loading content... please wait